We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very In-Depth and Interesting Military Museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airborne and Special Operations Museum

Airborne and Special Operations Museum
100 Bragg Boulevard, Fayetteville, NC 28301
910.643.2778
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Spring Lake, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Very In-Depth and Interesting Military Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I had to attend my unit's monthly professional development session at this museum, and was presently surprised by it. There is a memorial park outside that is very modern and creative in honoring North Carolina war veterans. There are actual casted handprints representing veterans.

Inside the exhibits describe the history of Special Operations Forces as well as the Airborne, and there is a very fun Airborne simulator.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    46
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FAYETTEVILLE
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Don't miss this opportunity!! One of the Top Military Heritage Museums Anywhere!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Whether or not you have served with the military's Airborne or Special Operations Community is irrelevant! If you have the occasion to visit Fayetteville / Fort Bragg / Pope AAF and do NOT take the time to visit this extraordinary historical archive, it is your great, great loss. I would liken it to visiting NYC and not visiting the Statue of Liberty or the Empire State Building.

Paul Galloway, Museum Executive Director, and crew have done an incredible job of archiving historical events, equipment, and personalities that epitomize and celebrate the best of the Airborne and Special Operations Community. You do not have to have served in the military to be amazed the by C-47 Dakota aircraft, and the AH--6 "Little Bird" suspended from the ceiling of this incredible facility. Allow at least two hours to tour this museum.

This is museum is not a testament to bravado. It is a testament to men and women who put others and their nation before themselves. If you weren't proud, honored, and humbled to call yourself an American before you enter the building, I guarantee that your heart and soul will swell with pride before you depart the area.

The museum displays are updated frequently. Plan to visit whenever you are in town.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“WOW!!!! Well worth the visit...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband and I were in Fayetteville for a wedding and had a couple of hours to spare on a Saturday morning. We went over to the Special Ops museum and were very impressed with it. We have traveled the country over the past few years and seen so much history in DC, Gettysburg, Charleston, etc... and were just in awe at what a great job they did with this museum. You could spend any where from about 2 hrs. to 4 hrs. in it depending on how much you read at each of the exhibits. The history from the 1940's forward and the exhibits are absolutely awesome! Be sure to wander the grounds outside also - just beautiful.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raeford, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great family time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

We loved the history that was Inside the meusum. We will be going back many times

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The best themed museum I have ever visited. Have been over ten times in the past 10 years and it just keeps getting better, they are constantly updating exhibits and adding special features.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Airborne and Special Operations Museum also viewed

 

Been to Airborne and Special Operations Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airborne and Special Operations Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.