We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Atmosphere, Steep Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Fayetteville Cross Creek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Fayetteville Cross Creek to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Fayetteville Cross Creek
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1464 Skibo Road, Fayetteville, NC 28303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Fayetteville
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Steep Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I stayed here for a few days while attending a conference at Ft. Bragg.

The hotel is pretty new, so the design and rooms are very nice. They are of a decent size, are well appointed, and the beds are comfortable. It is a standard TownePlace Suites.

I actually stayed in two types of rooms. One was two queens (might have been large full size), the other was a king. Both rooms are similarly sized, but the difference is the King had a large desk and storage area. If you dont need the second bed, I would recommend the king.

The kitchen has nice appliances, and the staff was great in clearing my dishes and running the dishwasher. It was a big help.

Breakfast was continental with the standard waffle machine. They have 24 hour coffee which is AWESOME (hello other Marriott brand hotels? – stop doing away with lobby coffee!). They also have Otis Spunkmeyer cookies in the early evening. Cant complain about that. Front desk staff was nice, and went out of their way to help where they could.

Overall everything was pretty good.

Now on to the cons:

Location is ok. It is located in a semi-seedy area of Fayetteville. It is right next to a Sam's Club and Wal Mart, which the crowd in the general area make it a little uncomfortable to walk around alone at night. There are several restaurants in the area like O'Charley's, Logan's, and Ryan's (I will post a separate review on Ryan's - avoid that place) - as well as a Sonic across the highway, so the location isn't all bad.

The fitness center has two treadmills and an elliptical. If you are into working out, don't go here. As nice as the hotel is, they really skimped on the equipment. There are no weights, and the equipment is some off brand and cheap. Your fitness routine will suffer here.

Parking is horrible. There isn’t anywhere really good to park as compared to the location of the doors. The designers of the hotel really screwed up on that one. If you go here, you will see. There are three doors up front, one in the back by the pool – and no registration parking – so you are going to be either blocking traffic, or lugging bags a long way.

They have free internet, but it is EXTREMELY slow. If you need to download a large file, it will take some time, as well as connectivity can be a bit choppy.

Final con is that it’s Fayetteville! The average price of this place is over $150 per night. I would say if you are on any kind of budget at all, you would do better at other chain hotels in town.

Final note - in the king room I was by one of the elevators. Avoid that at all costs! The elevators are extremely noisy in this place!!

I don't mean to sound so negative about this hotel, but it is new and when the big stuff such as cleanliness and amenities are not an issue, it is easier to focus on the little things.

Overall, the hotel is nice, but misses the mark on some of the little things. However, I would still recommend this place if you don’t mind spending the money, and don’t have a strict fitness routine!

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    35
    5
    8
    3
See reviews for
27
6
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

This was my second stay at TownePlace Suites Cross Creek in two weeks. I chose this hotel based on its location (i.e, proximity to Fort Bragg, restaurants, and Cross Creek Mall) and TripAdvisor reviews by other traveler. It was an excellent choice. I was greeted warmly upon my arrival and check-in was efficient. I was upgraded to a two bedroom suite (not at my request, but a welcome surprise) - the room was bright, spacious, very clean, and well appointed (with a stove and not just a cooktop; a large table with plenty of outlets nearby for my laptop, printer, and other electronics; and three flats screen tvs). Breakfast was the standard fare (waffles, muffins, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, etc) and the dining area was well-maintained. The staff (namely Ann at the front desk) was very friendly appreciative of my business. I will stay at this hotel again when I visit the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, VA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

On the way down I-95 to Florida, stayed in a two queen with sleeper sofa. The room was clean, quiet, and in good shape. The room has a fridge, microwave, sink, dishwasher and a couple of stovetop burners, along with dishware, utensils, and glasses. Although the room is pretty good size, when the sleeper couch is opened, it butts against one of the beds making it difficult for someone sleeping in the bed to get out. Breakfast is nothing special but there is plenty to fill you up. Overall, everything you would expect in a Marriott property. It is a little out of the way from I-95, but it is a bargain if you are using Marriott Rewards points. Liked it enough to drive a little extra on the return trip home and stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Stayed at the Towne Suites with my family on the way to Florida. The building looked very new and very clean. Staff was very nice and the rooms were clean. The location was a little out of the way but it was a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effort, PA 18330
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

Upon checking in, Lily at the desk argued with us saying their hotel did NOT have full kitchens w/ovens. We told her that the website said there was full kitchens there but she was yelling at us saying there wasn't. She was very rude and not polite at all. Lily was very unperfessional and flirted with my work colleagues. She literally made my stomach turn. Then we asked about using our Marriot rewards to upgrade to rooms that had full ovens and was told by the management (Pam Sise) that because we were there under government per diem we were not allowed to upgrade using our Marriot points. Then I found 3 phone calls on my bill that I did not make. Once again I was treated very poorly by the staff when trying to tell them I did not make the calls. After explaing to (Pam Sise) that I have a cell phone where I get free unlimited calling why would I use the hotel phone and get charged for it. The only staff member that was polite and friendly was Joe, and the only one I tipped well. Oh and the internet sucks, so if you need internet definitly find another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Friendly place to stay, But very slow speed on the internet. If your business trip requires you to use the internet, find another place to stay in.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S E Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I knew approximately where to look for the Fayetteville TownPlace Suites, but there was no sign on the road. Even making the turn at the right place I still didn’t notice that I was headed right for the hotel. The TownPlace Suites sign was at the center – top of the building but the afternoon sun was directly above the roofline. Okay, so don’t take any points off for a lack of well-placed signs. It turns out that there was also a sign at the entry to the parking lot. I missed that one too.

How could you ask for anything more in a hotel room? Okay, maybe a better view but this is not on New York’s Central Park. TownPlace Suites are good for extended length stays because of all that comes with the room. And speaking of room, there is plenty of it; a big contrast to a Microtel or Sleep Inn. The kitchen is a complete kitchen, even with a dishwasher and a full size refrigerator. The sleeping area is plenty adequate. The bathroom, though not large is roomy enough and with a big closet. When was the last time a hotel bathroom had a big closet?

The staff at check-in and check-out was pleasant. There was some sort of breakfast in the morning but it started at 7:00, (too late). And there were many restaurants within a small radius of the hotel. A minor inconvenience was the elevator which was located way down the hall, not near the lobby which is the norm.

Overall, this was a clean, quiet, spacious, bargain (when using Marriott points) of a hotel. I can’t imagine anything else to make the stay better. Oh, the one item that was missing? No ice bucket. I used the ice cube container from the freezer to get ice (which was located on the first floor only).

So, from my point of view, it doesn’t get much better than this. Just keep in mind this is not the Waldorf Astoria.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Fayetteville Cross Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Fayetteville Cross Creek

Address: 1464 Skibo Road, Fayetteville, NC 28303
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Fayetteville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Fayetteville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Fayetteville Cross Creek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Real Living at the TownePlace Suites by Marriott Fayetteville Cross Creek. Our spacious suites include functional space for both living and working. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast, full kitchens in every room, wireless internet, gym, outdoor swimming pool and 24 hour coffee service in our lobby! Our all-suite hotel is located close to the military communities of Fort Bragg and Pope Airfield. When it comes to shopping, both Wal-Mart and Sams Club are conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel, while the Cross Creek Mall is only a short drive away. Additionally, there are 3 restaurants within walking distance; Logan's Roadhouse, Memphis BBQ & Cracker Barrel. We hope you come and experience our excellence at the TownePlace Suites Fayetteville! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Fayetteville Cross Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Fayetteville Cross Creek Hotel Fayetteville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Fayetteville Cross Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.