We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it ain't broke...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Local Joint

The Local Joint
1185 B Charlotte Hwy, Fairview, NC
828-338-0469
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Fairview
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Fairview, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If it ain't broke...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

they tried to reinvent the wheel with their biscuits and gravy... HORRIBLE. - the gravy was swimming in either oregano or rosemary... or maybe both. On top of that, the sausage in the gravy looked pink and not cooked all the way. Needless to say, it went right in the trash can. @ $6.oo a piece, I expected more. The Local Joint used to be an old Huddle House and part of me wished it still was. At least they wouldn't screw up a breakfast classic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    19
    8
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Don't expect a great atmosphere...as it is attached to the side of a gas station lol. But the food is very good. My dad and stepmom live in Fairview and I was in town this past weekend to visit. I wanted a good, hearty (late) breakfast before I made the drive back to Winston yesterday afternoon and they suggested this place. I wasn't disappointed at all. They serve breakfast til 3 pm. I had The Local Favorite omelet which was technically vegetarian but packed full of protein with 3 eggs and lots of yummy local goat cheese. The home fries were very good too and they have a large selection of hot sauces to accompany your food. My bf got the bacon, egg and cheese biscuit (he is not very adventurous) and said it was very good. Oh...and the $3 mimosa was pretty tasty too :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy, relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The other morning my husband and I just wanted to keep moving, not take time to cook a big breakfast and make a mess of dishes, but we were so hungry....let's go to The Local Joint! Great idea. Good atmosphere, relaxed service, and yummy food. I fueled up on Corned Beef Hash, supplemented with an extra egg and avocado. The hash may have been little skimpy without the extras, but it sure hit the spot. Grits on the side. He ordered an omelet and ate his fill, with a pancake on the side. We tried to go back for supper (out doing errands again) but they were closed. Guess they ought to have some family time, too!

We've been there before and we'll go there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved the food and the folks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

NOT a typical gas station diner. Fantastic chef with a great personality that come through in his food. Excellent burger. Will come back for the homemade buffalo fries that were scrumptious. But if they have pecan pie... Eat desert first, and do not share.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gas Station Joint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Yes, it is a restaurant that is attached to the side of a gas station. It's your typical kind of low- key diner, as expected, but beware there are no tables available to seat more than 4 people. The food was just OK, just don't sate your $$ on the corned beef and has ( all hash, very little corned beef). The best I can say is that it was generally OK.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Local Joint also viewed

Fairview, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Fairview, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Fairview, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Local Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Local Joint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.