We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Surf Seafood Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mountain Surf Seafood Restaurant
12789 Hwy 18N, Ennice, NC 28623
(336) 657-8391
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 restaurants in Ennice
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Union Hall, VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We left the Blue Ridge Parkway heading for a town several miles away to look for lunch. We had gone less than 5 minutes when we spotted a restaurant with a full parking lot at 1 pm and decided that was a good recommendation. Indeed we found excellent service and good food. The serving size was generous and the prices were very reasonable. We finished off with a piece of home made carrot cake. We would certainly stop again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    2
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrible Food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The service was excellent but the food was terrible. Since the restaurant has the word "seasfood" in it we thought we would order the seafood. Big mistake. I ordered the broiled seafood platter. It had small frozen shrimp, small so so oysters, mushy fish and okay scallops. My husband ordered the broiled catfish. One piece was tough and undercooked. All in all not very good. Maybe if we ordered everything deep fried we wouldn't have noticed their lack of freshness and quality. The salad bar was great. If there were to be a next time (which is never going happen) we would just order the salad bar.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowgap, nc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

It's a small family-owned restaurant with a home town atmosphere and excellent food and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A nice surprise in the mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stumbled upon Mountain Surf while exploring the back roads around Galax. We asked our GPS for restaurants and this was close by. The parking lot was full on this Sunday evening, and we took that as a good sign. It was obviously a family/local crowd with friendly servers and quick service. Being from Savannah, I did not expect anything to rival our seafood, and frankly, it didn't. However, my catfish was excellent and the serving was so large I couldn't eat it all. The hushpuppies, which were made like funnel cakes in long 'ribbons' rather than 'balls,' were also excellent. My brother ordered salmon and my husband had a mixed platter. They said their seafood was good, not great, but enjoyable. We all agreed we would go there again if we had the chance. The prices were reasonable; the decor was very casual. The vast majority of our fellow diners were in jeans and casual tops, and seemed to be enjoying their family time together.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Food. Great Prices. Locals know best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

This restaurant is off the beaten path, but more than worth the trip. Mountain Surf is heavily frequented by the locals in the area. Everyone was friendly and pleasant. The restaurant was exceptionally clean and the prices can't be beat. Even though the name indicates seafood, the menu is full of other options if you aren't a seafood lover. We had the small seafood platter (don't get the large unless you are a REALLY big eater), and the portions were big. I got flounder, shrimp and clam strips with a baked potatoe and salad for $11.50. They bring fresh hushpuppies to your table constantly and they keep a tea or water pitcher on your table so you are never without a drink. Service was quick and friendly. The salad bar was well stocked. The biggest surprise was the homemade dessert. I had one of the best pieces of coconut cream pie that I have had in years -- for $1.99!! Haven't seen anything that cheap in many years. All in all, a fabulous find. If you are in the area don't miss this gem!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Surf Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Surf Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.