We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but lacking...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kathryn's Bistro and Martini Bar

Kathryn's Bistro and Martini Bar
8002 Emrald Drive, Emerald Isle, NC 28954
252-354-6200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Emerald Isle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner
Newport, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice but lacking...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband & I had received a gift certificate to kathryns so we went tonight. The salad w/ peppercorn gorgonzola was fresh & tasty. I enjoyed it. My husband enjoys the she crab soup as well. My entree was the Parmesan encrusted grouper w/ lump crab over lobster ravioli. The lobster ravioli were tasty as were the seasonal vegetables. The grouper was tasteless and the crab tasty but lacking. Our waiter was promp & courteous but not personable. Overall I'd give kathryns an average rating. Pricey but average.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    43
    16
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The big splurge but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

We celebrated our anniversary here and the experience could not have been better. The martinis were excellent, the escargot appetizer scrumptious, the entrees (grilled salmon and crab cakes) wonderful, and the coconut cake dessert out of this world. We're going back on our last night here to try more of their delicious preparations.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“the drinks or the food?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

can't decide which is better, always get both! best soft shell crab anywhere. everything is good right down to the pleasant hostess

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Kathryn's is a great dining experience. We have taken friends and family and it is always a hit! It's true that it is a little expensive but everything is delicious. If lobster is a special - order it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A pricey experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

The martinis are fine but expensive compared to other places of equal quality. Our server had been there many years and was well experienced. If you order appitizers and share, you can control costs and still enjoy a fair sample of the menu. Soft shelled crab makes for a nice meal with a local touch.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathryn's Bistro and Martini Bar also viewed

Emerald Isle, North Carolina Coast
Emerald Isle, North Carolina Coast
 
Emerald Isle, North Carolina Coast
Emerald Isle, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Kathryn's Bistro and Martini Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kathryn's Bistro and Martini Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.