We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort at an Affordable Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Elizabeth City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Elizabeth City to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   306 S Hughes Blvd, Elizabeth City, NC 27909 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfort at an Affordable Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited family in the area, and needed a place to stay. The Comfort Inn was clean and comfortable and much cheaper than comparable hotels. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The building is very centrally located, and great food is within a stones throw. During future trips to Elizabeth City,we will not hesitate to stay at the Comfort Inn again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles d, General Manager at Comfort Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you very much for your kind remarks about your stay at the Comort Inn in Elizabeth City. It was our pleasure having youas our guest and we look forward to your return to us on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

It was a sad reason that we were visiting Elizabeth City -- a funeral but our stay at Comfort Inn made it a little more pleasant for us all. My husband and I arrived one day then our grown kids had to come up the next day but the hotel gave us connecting rooms which worked out well for all. The rooms were a good size, clean and comfortable. The internet worked well too which was a big help since we had o map out some places. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was quite good and filling. It certainly helped us get a good start on the long, sad days. The breakfast area was a little small and could get crowded easily but everything was good. The only thing I missed was an exercise room since I like to try to work out each day to help keep my knees from hurting. The pool was closed for the season so I couldn't exercise any. We would consider staying here again the next time we'll in the Elizabeth City area again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles d, Manager at Comfort Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to post a review of our new hotel. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and your great review of our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

This property is very well maintained. My room was clean, smelled good, had good linens and a very comfortable bed. It was quiet and the staff was helpful. Breakfast was a bit better than average although the "eggs" were an odd texture. The manager's reception with soft drinks, beer, and BBQ meatballs was a nice touch. I think the manager is relatively new and has upped the standards. In any case, he is a very visible presence and keeps the property in good shape.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles D, General Manager at Comfort Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for tsking time out of your busy schedule to let other guest know about your stay at the Comfort Inn in Elizabeth City. We are glad you gave us a chance to earn your business and We are glad everything went well with your stay. The Comfort Inn look forward to your many returns to us while coming to Elizabeth City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Pleasantly surprised! We were so pleased with our room that we weren't in a hurry to leave the next morning. Very nice, clean & comfortable!! Super friendly staff. I liked that they had laundry facility. If we're ever passing through that area again, we would definitely stay there!!!

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Well, my wife and I were traveling to Edenton, NC for my daughter's wedding. Edenton hotels were filled so, we made our reservations in Elizabeth City. When we arrived, we went inside to check in. The front desk clerk was very nice and had a pleasant attitude. After showing correct identification, along with my credit card, we went to our room which was just around the corner from the front desk. Upon entry to the room, we were both surprised (and expected to see) a very nice looking room with a very clean smell. The room had a flat screen TV with cable, free wireless high speed internet access, refrigerator and a microwave that was all set in a "made to fit" wood cabinet (you just aren't expecting to see that sort of thing in a hotel/motel...it was very nice looking.) All other room amenities including a king sized-bed and a coffee maker were also present. The outdoor pool area was also clean and the water was crystal clear! In the morning, you would expect to see a "Continental" breakfast with assorted Danish, biscuits, toast, coffee and juices. NOT here, we were VERY surprised to see that they had FULL breakfasts with eggs, meats, coffee, juices, etc.... So, if you're looking for a pleasant stay, with a very polite and helpful staff, look no further. Quite frankly, we were expecting ANYTHING BUT the type of stay that we had. We will return and we will recommend this hotel/motel to our friends and relatives. Thank you Comfort Inn for a very satisfying stay!

Room Tip: We were located on the first floor with interior entrance. I'm not sure about the second floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Accommodations were nice. Continental breakfast s; hospitality very good. Nearby restaurants and a mall area to shop. Purpose of trip was visiting relatives for two family reunions in nearby Winfall, NC. We stayed at Comfort Inn from Saturday to Tuesday during Labor Day weekend. Had a great stay. The manager and the staff kept asking if we needed anything. We were very satisfied. One major thing was I left my JACKET in our room, they found it and will mail it back to me. Thank you Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: Just ask the front desk and they will give You a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed one night in August, 2014. The room was okay, and breakfast was typical. At the end of a long, hot day, we looked forward to a swim in the pool. The pool water was cloudy, the pump was not running for some reason, and best of all, the pool was located in the parking lot within sight of a busy street. We're willing to pay more to stay somewhere else next time. The staff was great!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Elizabeth City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Elizabeth City

Address: 306 S Hughes Blvd, Elizabeth City, NC 27909 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Elizabeth City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BRAND NEW COMFORT INN ELIZABETH CITY! Formally the Holiday Inn Express, under new Ownership and Management. The property has been completely renovated inside and out and is now the new Comfort Inn in Elizabeth City, NC near Elizabeth State University.Southern hospitality abounds at the non-smoking Comfort Inn in Elizabeth City, NC, which is fitting since the city itself is nicknamed “Harbor of Hospitality.” The area features a number of local businesses and corporations, including:•DRS•Pepsi•Elizabeth State University•College of the Albemarle•U.S. Coast Guard Base Elizabeth City, North CarolinaThe Comfort Inn is also a short drive from the Outer Banks of North Carolina and Virginia Beach, for those in the area looking for leisure activities.While at the hotel, relax in the seasonal outdoor pool, utilize guest laundry service and get work done in the business center. Additional amenities include:•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free daily newspaper•Free coffeeYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!All guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, desk and hair dryer.Make the Comfort Inn your home away from home when visiting Elizabeth City, NC area. Whether you're traveling for business or a vacation, our staff will work hard to make your stay is memorable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Elizabeth City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Elizabeth City Hotel Elizabeth City
Holiday Inn Elizabeth City
Elizabeth City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Elizabeth City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.