We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Sushi

Volcano Sushi
1409 W Ehringhaus St, Southgate Mall, Elizabeth City, NC 27909
252-338-3353
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

First time eating here. Love
The atmosphere .had a meal which included chicken,steak
And shrimp served with rice
Vegetables large portion. Had to take half home. Delicious food. I would recommend to anyone .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“We go at least a few times a month”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Best Sushi in Elizabeth City and on a more national level it's really good. The staff is friendly and the prices are reasonable. The decor is a little lacking but that is not what we go there for.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good but not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Volcano seems like a local hotspot in our small town but it just misses the mark for me a little. The food is delicious, but super expensive for the small amount that is given (hibachi), however the sushi is good. Not to mention almost all the servers are shy and sometimes rude. I am a waitress myself and I know how I would like to be treated. This is a nice place to go ocassionally, but not weekly or monthly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best In Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have to say. We gave Toyama's one more try and they cannot even compare to this place. The pricing is much more reasonable and the sushi/sashimi so much better. Much more generous portions and fantastic service here.
The staff here are also so much more personable and friendly. Winnie is our favorite:)) They all truly cater to the customer and we have never ever left unhappy. We have sent over 10 friends that were regulars at Toyama's and they all agree. It doesn't get any better than this.
While we don't do the grill because we love sushi, everyone we know seems to love that area of the restaurant also.
THIS IS THE PLACE TO GO FOR GREAT SUSHI. WE WILL NEVER GO ANYWHERE ELSE AS LONG AS WE LIVE HERE AND GO OUT FOR A LOCAL SUSHI NIGHT:))

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenton, North Carolina
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Best Lunch Deal in EC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Bento box lunch is the best deal in the City for Asian--you get two choices of main dishes (Katsu, Soba, Udon, etc, sushi...). I will warn you, the sushi can get expensive. The sushi bar chefs take care of you with free tastes of things, so tip them well!

I'll be back, but I think I'll save a sushi hankering for Toyama which is much more affordable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcano Sushi also viewed

Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Volcano Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.