We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried Food Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Seafood Market

Quality Seafood Market
309 E Ehringhaus St, Elizabeth City, NC 27909
(252) 335-7648
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Virginia Beach, VA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fried Food Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just what a seafood joint in NC should be. 3 of us ordered a lunch special, a dinner special, and 2 sides. Fish fillets were white perch, the shrimp was fat and juicy, the oysters fat and gooey, scallops were just OK, and the fried crabs were sweet and crunchy. Two meals had way too many fries, next time we might just order off the sides menu. Everything was very clean, the service was fast and friendly, we left well fed and happy for under $30.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland, US
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great Price, Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Followed on a hunch some previous reviewers suggestions. Stopped in on 4/11/13 during the middle of lunch time. No wait, placed the order at a counter, grabbed a seat and moments later picked up our sandwiches. Where can you get a crab cake sandwich for $3.99 and a soft shell crab sandwich for $4.29. Even if they didn't taste good the price was right, but they were good. Crab cake was small, not a lot of backfin and it was one softshell on the sandwich but both tasted fine.

This is a no frills sandwich shop, mainly fried seafood but a great alternative to the burger chains.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merry Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Thank you Trip Advisor reviewers for finding this one! The comments were all so favorable that we stopped by for a late lunch and weren't disappointed. Simple white building with blue awnings was easy to find on the right on 17N. Even at 3 pm on a Thursday afternoon the parking lot was full with diners/shoppers buying fresh seafood. The decor is simple and set-up like a fast food restaurant by placing your order at the front counter, finding your own seating and picking up your order when your number is called. I ordered the shrimp/oyster dinner which consisted of 8 crispy fried oysters, 8 lightly seasoned/battered shrimp, 5 homemade hushpuppies and a side of fresh chopped slaw for $7.99. The oysters were a little too salty and deeply fried for my taste, but very fresh. The coleslaw a little too finely chopped. I just prefer it shredded with more texture, but it was still tasty. The shrimp was wonderful! Lightly seasoned/breaded. Hushpuppies had great texture - - - buttery/crisp on the outside and moist w/o the large onions inside. The pre-packaged Kraft tartar sauce was ok, but the Kraft cocktail sauce is terrible. If they would make their own cocktail sauce w/ some fresh horseradish... it would make it oh so much better... On the way out we stopped by the market and picked up a pound of the steamed shrimp for dinner w/ Old Bay seasoning and some crabmeat. The shrimp, again, was very good with MY homemade cocktail sauce (heavy on the horseradish), but haven't had the crabmeat yet... Great find!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklinville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quality Seafood is right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Modest appearance, best seafood around. No one prepares better fried shrimp. This is quality seafood. Also, have a very good fish market. Can not be beaten in E.C.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“All I can say is WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is an old school fried seafood kind of cafe. I had the fried flounder sampler lunch and loved it. I got fried flounder that was crispy, fresh and very good, plus fried oysters, fried shrimp and the hushpuppies were good as well. The prices are excellent and I just wish I didn't have to drive 4 hours to get here! I only got to eat here once on my way through Elizabeth City, but there were about 5 things on the wall menu board that I really wish I could have tried.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quality Seafood Market also viewed

Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Quality Seafood Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Seafood Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.