We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. Can't go wrong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grouper's Waterfront Restaurant

Grouper's Waterfront Restaurant
400 S Water St, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-4965
252-331-2431
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Conway, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food. Can't go wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Good food and reasonably priced. Friendly service. Walking distance from Elizabeth City B&B. What's not to like?

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    13
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ny
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We went for dinner while in town visiting family. My husband has celiac disease and the chef came out to our table to answer a few questions......she was very knowledgable and we appreciated it. Hubby had blackened mahi mahi and thought it was the some of the best he'd ever had. I had the shrimp and grits appetizer and it was enough for a meal and it WAS the best I ever had. I can't wait to go back for some more!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food & Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Food was good once we finally received it Our first waitress was more interested & getting off work to see her boyfriend and never came to take our order. After a very long wait a wonderful young lady noticed & took over doing a great job. Most likely will not return.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good Food but Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Went this weekend and had the fired grouper and steamed seafood trio...lobster & shrimp were overcooked but the crablegs and fried grouper were very nice . Would like to sit outside once the weather cools down

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food was terrible-crab cake filler”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We went there our last night in Elizabeth City and took friends out to dinner. I ordered the grilled seafood platter. The crab cake was nothing but filler with specs of crab, I showed it to the waitress and she said oh it is all crab meat and he rolls it like a meat ball. There was no taste and the salmon was very dried out and also no flavor. The potato was dried out and it appeared the food sat under their heat lamps too long. My friend ordered a medium rare NY strip and she said there was very little pink and also lacking flavor. Since it appeared they were not going to adjust the bill nor correct the food, we let our tip show how dissatisfied we were. We will not go back there when we return! Montero's is the best yet! The owner did not care either.One waitress for the entire dining area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grouper's Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Grouper's Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grouper's Waterfront Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.