We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“town gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montero's Restaurant

Montero's Restaurant
414 N. McArthur Street, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-4566
+1 252-331-1067
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pasta, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“town gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was my second trip to town and second visit to Montero's. I enjoyed both visits. I've now sampled various appetizers, entrees, desserts and have enjoyed them all. Like any other restaurant, there will be dishes you like more or less, but I would not hesitate to recommend anyone go here while in town. In particular, I'd like to mention the scallops I had this last visit. They were perfectly cooked; I hate when seafood is overdone, and they cooked these wonderfully. The service has been friendly both times. I don't anticipate being in Elizabeth City again anytime soon, but if so, I will go to Montero's!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    29
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great Service - Good Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Old restaurant with a very friendly staff. The Owner made it a point to visit our table. We had two young kids and 6 adults so we were seated in the banquet room. Not as nice as the restaurant area but ok.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quiet and civilized in a beautiful serene setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stopped here on the recommendation of the hotel staff at the Hampton Inn...they even provided us with a full menu. It was a perfect last dinner at the end of our trip to the Outer Banks! Quiet and low-keyed...the service was impressive. Our waiter inadvertently ordered the wrong appetizer for me and I didn't mention it...without saying anything and with no fuss, he simply ordered the correct one and brought it out to me, no charge, no fanfare. Classy!!
The selection of appetizers we had was wonderful as was the creamy beef chowder...I had never had anything like it before...delicious!
If we lived anywhere near Elizabeth City this would be our go-to restaurant for fine dining!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“superb all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great food, great service, very reasonable prices. The option of large and small portions was perfect for us. We would stop in Elizabeth City again just to eat at Montero's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Food - Shrimp and Grits!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

First time at the restaurant and first time eating shrimp and grits. Worth the visit. I'd go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montero's Restaurant also viewed

Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Montero's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montero's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.