We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and great food !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montero's Restaurant

Montero's Restaurant
414 N. McArthur Street, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-4566
+1 252-331-1067
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pasta, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
High Point
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great service and great food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our first visit to Elizabeth City and after reading reviews we decided to give this restaurant a try. We were not disappointed at all ! Great service beginning with the hostess reception and also from the wait staff and management. The food was excellent, prepared and served perfectly!

We had the cobia and the chicken Ashley and both meals were wonderful !

We totally recommend this restaurant to everyone !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    29
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I sometimes stay in Elizabeth City and was checking Trip Advisor for a good local restaurant this past week. I came across some good reviews for Montero's. As I plugged the address into my GPS, I discovered that it was only three blocks from my hotel... how convenient! The atmosphere is very nice, the staff was very friendly and the food was delicious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I had dinner here recently on the advice of our hotel clerk. She said "Montero's is the best place in town". After dining there, I'd have to agree. Everything we had was fantastic. We had the fried provolone cheese, chicken soup and shrimp and grits. It was all excellent. The portions were large, so we more filled. The service was excellent, and the atmosphere relaxing for a quiet dinner.
I would most definitely recommend Montero's and hope to eat there again next time we're in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Very good selection of items. We had Crab Dip, Shrimp and Grits and Bourbon St. Mahi. Very well prepared. Also recommend the Carmel Apple Granny dessert.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE LOVE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My hubs and I LOVE Montero's!! We are locals and love to go there on a night out! Our favorite section is the bar area. The wall color is a deep red and the art is reminiscent of the old jazz days! We love to spend time there taking it all in. The other rooms are wonderfully painted/ decorated as well. The staff is so welcoming and friendly! And the food...SO good! :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montero's Restaurant also viewed

Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Montero's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montero's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.