We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Elizabeth City

Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Elizabeth City to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   402 Halstead Blvd, Elizabeth City, NC 27909   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I went to Elizabeth City for a graduation ceremony, so I didn't stay long and looked for a good, modest-priced hotel. This Hampton Inn was an excellent choice. It looks to be newly remodeled with a gorgeous (and very clean) lobby/breakfast area. The breakfast was wonderful! The front desk staff were always cheerful and ready to help. My room was very clean and spacious. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hampton Inn, Elizabeth City, I would like to thank you for your review of our hotel. I am so pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations with the product and service that we provide and make your stay memorable.

I am looking forward to showing you again what staying at a Hampton is all about.

We love having you here and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Sabrina Parrish
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    50
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
61
43
16
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I had to go to Elizabeth City for business, and my coworkers and I stayed at the Hampton Inn. I really enjoyed my stay here. Walking in, the hotel has a pretty small lobby in front. However, the dining area gives you plenty of space to sit down and do your work or meet with coworkers or friends.

Reception was fast, friendly, and efficient, and I got a room with my preferences, which was nice. I was in a double queen and the room was really spacious, with a round table/chairs in addition to the work desk, tv/dresser, and refrigerator/micro console. I didn't notice the closet, but didn't need one on this trip, so didn't think to look. The bathroom was also spacious with plenty of counter space. Note that the coffee/tea set was in the bathroom, but this did not impact me. (I hate bathrooms with inadequate counter space) The bed was super comfortable, as were the pillows. Wi-fi was easily accessible, and there was a good channel selection.

They do offer a nice breakfast, although I just had fruit and a yogurt. I was pleased to see that they had breakfast bags with a muffin, fruit, bottled water for those of us on the go; and later in the day they had a snack bag with a snack, chips, bottled water, and cookies. This was really helpful for us since we were in and out.

Working in the lobby, we had access to delicious home cooked cookies, fruit, and coffee or hot chocolate. We were also offered bottles of water. There is also a small sundry shop, but I didn't take advantage of it. My coworker did get a toothbrush from the front desk. There is also a small meal in the afternoon, but I wasn't able to partake. Nice to know that I could have a bite to eat at the hotel, though.

I highly recommend this hotel, and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I was across from the boiler room and near the elevators. Didn't hear any sounds all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hampton Inn, Elizabeth City, I would like to thank you for your review of our hotel. I am so pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations with the product and service that we provide and make your stay memorable.

I am looking forward to showing you again what staying at a Hampton is all about.

We love having you here and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Sabrina Parrish
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

IT was most certainly the friendliest, cleanest, and the staff were exceptionally wonderful to us. OUr needs were taken care of promptly. All the employees were happy and smiling which says a lot for a business. We will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hampton Inn, Elizabeth City, I would like to thank you for your review of our hotel. I am so pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations with the product and service that we provide and make your stay memorable.

I am looking forward to showing you again what staying at a Hampton is all about.

We love having you here and look forward to seeing you again soon!



Sincerely,
Sabrina Parrish
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Ok hotel for the general area. I felt it was priced quite high for the age of the hotel and area. Check in staff was friendly, check out not so much we had to track down the person assigned to the counter in the breakfast area, they seemed rather surprised we wanted to check out, said we didn't have to, and when asked if they wanted the keys back, they said "yeah ok sure"... Not the type of service I would expect at a hotel priced in this class. I would certainly try and find a place elsewhere next time i visit the area, if there wasn't a better value, then I wouldn't rule out staying again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Outstanding staff, impeccible facility, friendly environment, and memorable food. Location very accessible. Staff provided superb recommendations regarding various activities and eateries. Thank you for ensuring our stay and vacation were fond memories. Would definitely stay again as this was one of the best Hampton Inns I have had the pleasure of visiting in many months.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hampton Inn, Elizabeth City, I would like to thank you for your review of our hotel. I am so pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations with the product and service that we provide and make your stay memorable.

I am looking forward to showing you again what staying at a Hampton is all about.

We love having you here and look forward to seeing you again soon!



Sincerely,
Sabrina Parrish
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

After deciding late to go to the Northern outerbanks for the weekend had a hard time finding a decent hotel at a good price, so settled on the Hampton inn in Elizabeth City as a suitable alternative. It is about 35 miles to the outerbanks from Elizabeth city but was able to book a room at the last minute at a decent price. This property is pretty standard for the Hampton Inn line but what really set it apart for me was the excellent front desk staff. I arrived a little early so my room was not ready when I got there, but the front desk staff took my cell number and said they would call me when it ewas ready they also gave me some recommnedations on what I could do while waiting. Also whenb asked for eating recommnedations they gave several excellent choices and even had printed directions on how to get to where I picked to go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hampton Inn, Elizabeth City, I would like to thank you for your review of our hotel. I am so pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations with the product and service that we provide and make your stay memorable.

I am looking forward to showing you again what staying at a Hampton is all about.

We love having you here and look forward to seeing you again soon!



Sincerely,
Sabrina Parrish
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Hampton Inn Elizabeth City in a very comfortable room on Monday night, conducted an all-day training class in their conference room and was super impressed with the service at check-in, breakfast, conference room, accommodations and check-out. Every (and I mean EVERY) member of their staff was pleasant, helpful and friendly. Will definitely stay here if I am in the Elizabeth City area again. Thanks to the Hampton Inn Elizabeth City Team for a wonderful (and all too rare) hotel stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hampton Inn, Elizabeth City, I would like to thank you for your review of our hotel. I am so pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations with the product and service that we provide and make your stay memorable.

I am looking forward to showing you again what staying at a Hampton is all about.

We love having you here and look forward to seeing you again soon!



Sincerely,
Sabrina Parrish
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Elizabeth City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Elizabeth City

Address: 402 Halstead Blvd, Elizabeth City, NC 27909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Elizabeth City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Any port in a storm" is an old seaman's saying, but if you're actually caught in a storm, try to make it to the town that surrounds our Hampton Inn® hotel in Elizabeth City. Why? Well, first of all, we're a harbor that offers a huge array of services. You'll find shops, docks, stores, and restaurants all along our waterfront. And second? We're home to the United States Coast Guard. They're just six miles from the Hampton Inn hotel in Elizabeth City. While you're in town, make sure to explore our gorgeous neighborhoods. Many boast Greek Revival, antebellum, Italianate, and Victorian homes and businesses. Those who love golf will find championship links within just a few minutes of our hotel in Elizabeth City. Lastly, if you pull into our town by boat, don't be surprised if you're greeted by a friendly welcome party complete with roses. It's a long tradition here in town-started by two private citizens in 1983 and continued by Elizabeth City's "Rose Buddies." It's yet another reason why we think you'll agree that the Hampton Inn hotel in Elizabeth City is in the friendliest harbor on the Eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Elizabeth City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City Hotel Elizabeth City
Elizabeth City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.