We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Incredible Meals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 309 Bistro & Spirits

309 Bistro & Spirits
309 South Broad Street, Edenton, NC 27932
252 482-0997
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 restaurants in Edenton
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Two Incredible Meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband & I had the chance to eat dinner here while in Edenton for several days. This was the best meal by far we've had in Edenton & the service was awesome. My husband had the Osso Buco & thoroughly enjoyed it. I enjoyed the Scallops & pasta dinner which was very flavorful & more than I could eat. This gets 2 thumbs up for us! We will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    71
    45
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nothing to talk about”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I realize Edenton is a small town so this must be the "it" place to go. Horrible. For the price we paid, not busy by any means and had to wait 45' for a burger (that had to be sent back because it was raw. They put the same burger, after a bite had been taken out of it and cooked it with other people's food as it was returned charred with the same bite out of it) and salmon that had a horrible sauce, outrageous price for the portion etc, etc.
We live around the area and will never go back!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A must try in Edento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My fiancee' and I dropped in after looking at several places. The menu looked interesting, and the atmosphere seemed fun, so we made our choice. We're glad we did! We sat in the bar area at a table window. Service was fast and attentive. The Stella and gin and tonic arrived fast and cold. The orders were exactly right. She had the shrimp po boy and said it was excellent. I had the chicken club, and it was hot and flavorful. The fries were hand-cut fresh...hot, perfect. We each had an entree and 2 drinks, and the tab was under 40.
The servers were spot on, the restaurant and bathrooms clean.
We wish we could have stayed around for dinner because the night's entrees looked amazing.
If you want more than a cold sandwich or a basic burger, 309 will give you a more upscale feel with far more sophisticated flavors than some of the more 'basic' shops in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Crab Dip!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

While staying at a local bed and breakfast, we ventured out one week night for appetizers and drinks. 309 Bistro, our second stop, was closing shortly, but we had enough time to sit at the bar for a drink and an appetizer. We ordered the crab dip served with pita bread wedges. It was excellent, as was the Guiness beer!

The first bartender who greeted us was very friendly, but indicated that she was just backing-up the bartender who would be serving us. This one wasn't so friendly. I think she might have spoken five words to us in the hour that we were there. At one point, she was sitting at the end of the bar having her own cocktail!

It's a great, little town and this seems to be a great, little restaurant. I would have ranked it higher had the service from the bartender not been so poor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Always great service & a great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

As Edenton locals 309 is our favorite local restaurant! The food is always great & service spot on! The Bistro steak is my favorite dinner & the spinach salad is my favorite lunch. We have also been to & helped plan several dinner parties in their back room which is perfect for private parties! They are so accommodating & helpful in planning the menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 309 Bistro & Spirits also viewed

Edenton, North Carolina Coast
Edenton, North Carolina Coast
 
Edenton, North Carolina Coast
Edenton, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to 309 Bistro & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 309 Bistro & Spirits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.