We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inner Banks Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inner Banks Inn to your Saves list
Inner Banks Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   103 East Albemarle Street, Edenton, NC 27932 (Formerly The Pack House Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Edenton B&B and Inns
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

We came across the Packhouse Inn purely by chance, having taken a road trip to North Carolina without aiming for anywhere in particular. We were lured in by the huge veranda, decked with swinging benches and rocking chairs and lit by antique oil lamps. There was only one room available on our arrival night, which we took. Within a few minutes of looking around our huge, beautifully decorated room and being shown the rest of the house by the kind host, we had decided to stay for 3 nights. Overall, this is the best place we have stayed in. The rooms (we tried 2) are spotless and unique, the house itself, stunning and cosy, and the service provided by the host, unfaltering and relaxed. I wish that we could transport ourselves back to the beautiful veranda, at dusk, with a glass of (very good) complementary wine in hand and the noise of the tropical rain battering the tin roof. A perfect hideaway.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    32
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
115
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest NC
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

This was a completely wonderful experience in every way, and much more affordable than most other inns. The rooms are beautiful without being stiff and formal, the food was excellent, the service exquisite. Giuliano is very gifted as an innkeeper and chef, and both he and Mike (the owner) made us feel like family. The Pack House Inn is a great base from which to explore the Albemarle Sound area. Even in winter, this region is a soothing landscape with rivers, sounds, and waterways everywhere. The Outer Banks is only about an hour away as well. From now on, I will only stay at the Pack House Inn whenever I need a place to stay in Edenton.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBX
1 review
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

I enjoyed a recent stay at The Pack House Inn. The accommodations were oustanding in every way. The staff was very friendly and respectful and considerate of the needs of each guest. The breakfasts were especially delicious. I look forward to returning, and I definitely recommend the Pack House Inn!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Largest rooms we've stayed in. True to period furniture with interesting novelties. Open salon with stocked kitchen for guests to use at all times. Good location - 4 blocks from water. WIll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, VA
1 review
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Edenton is a well kept secret and hidden in the midst of farm country and nested against the Arbemarle Sound. The Pack House Inn is the most charming and cozy Bed and Breakfast I have ever had the priviledge to use. The rooms are spacious, well appointed, quiet, and clean. The breakfast is tasty and plentiful. Giuliano, the Inn keeper is the most gracious host and is eager to please you. We highly recommend the Pack House Inn if your travels ever take you to Edenton.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

I and my four sisters met to spend the weekend together. Two of us are from NC, one from NY, one from Ohio and I from Boston. What an amazing treat! And my comparison comes from the New England area, known for our Bed & Breakfasts! Beautifully detailed, warm/friendly smiles, amazing rooms, service and amenities most places do not even think of! Trust us five girls; do not hesitate. You found the perfect "home" to visit!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moyock, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

We arrived at the Pack house with our granddaughter and adult guests. We were staying in Edenton for our daughters wedding. The inn was clean and very comfortable. Giuliano, the innkeeper, treated us like we were family. What a pleasant surprise! I would highly recommend this inn to anyone who would enjoy lodging with all the comforts of home. Thanks from the Corbetts

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inner Banks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inner Banks Inn

Address: 103 East Albemarle Street, Edenton, NC 27932 (Formerly The Pack House Inn)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Edenton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Edenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inner Banks Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our romantic Edenton, NC bed and breakfast is set in the beautiful historic district, just two blocks from a vibrant downtown and the picturesque Albemarle Sound. Inner Banks Inn offers three beautifully restored homes to choose from, including a romantic Southern Victorian mansion, a converted pack house lodge, and a charming Carolina cottage. Guests will enjoy a hearty three-course breakfast each morning and dining at our new Edenton, NC restaurant The Table featuring American farm to table cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Inner Banks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pack House Hotel Edenton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inner Banks Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.