We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nadwal could not be anymore wrong...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inner Banks Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inner Banks Inn to your Saves list
Inner Banks Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   103 East Albemarle Street, Edenton, NC 27932 (Formerly The Pack House Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Edenton B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nadwal could not be anymore wrong...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Nadwal reviewer obviously is used the Ritz Carlton style treatment... But then again, does the Ritz allow pets? My wife, our golden retriever and I found this treasure and were extremely happy to hear they allowed pets (albeit in the cottage adjacent to the kitchen). Still, a VERY small price to pay to get such comfort in a pet-friendly hotel. Pet-friendly hotels are very difficult to find. There is only one other pet-friendly hotel in Edenton... a Bates Motel-style motel.. Maybe Nadwal should have gone there if they wanted peace and quiet -- there was only one car in that parking lot at 11:00 pm. Was the cottage a bit busy in the morning? Yes, but that's because the innkeepers were making a very delicious breakfast for us (and the rest of the guests). The sounds were not loud at all..similar to what you would hear in the morning when visiting a relative or friend... as they prepared a morning meal. We just lied in bed and dozed... knowing that the noises would pay dividends in the form of a delicious hot breakfast. The owner and staff could not have been any more friendlier or accommodating. Just what you want from a bed and breakfast experience. I suggest that Nadwal's not bring their pet the next time they take a trip. Maybe then, they could stay at the Ritz....and find other reasons to complain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    32
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
115
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roxboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Spent 3 nights here. The owner and staff were all very nice and quick to please. I would definitely recommend this place, and will stay here again if I am ever back in the area without hesitation!! Really a great place to stay!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you go to the Pack House Inn, do not under any circumstances stay in The Cottage (rooms 22 and 23). Yes, these rooms are pet friendly, but they are decidedly not guest friendly, which we discovered the hard way, and paid $155.68 for the privilege. As we were about to be shown to our room, the man in the office yelled, "Oh, by the way, it may be a little noisy in the morning." This is because The Cottage is where breakfast is served, and the doors of the two guest rooms are literally three feet away from the kitchen, where people start doing prep work before 6 a.m. Clean up ends around 9:30 a.m.. Also, another, uninsulated door in our room communicated directly with the dining room, with perfect acoustics in both directions. To make matters worse, the owners had agreed to do a dinner for a large group staying at the Pack House, which had been planned, "a long time ago." The prep work for that started before 5 p.m. and clean-up lasted until after 9:30 p.m. The large and convivial party talked and laughed loudly directly outside our acoustically optimized communicating door from 7 until 9. If we had been informed about any of this, as certainly we should have been, there is no way we would have booked this very expensive room, nor even have agreed to stay there for free. Another thing the owners neglected to mention is that the free wi-fi internet service does not reach into the two rooms in The Cottage. I could get internet service sporadically from the dining room, but of course that was in use during almost the entire waking time of our visit. The upshot is that our romantic night away from the kids was anything but. The staff was uniformly friendly and the breakfast was good but the owners, although aware of the problems, at no time suggested any possible solutions or even apologized for the inconvenience. The best we got was the suggestion that next time we stay there with a pet, we try to book room 5 or 17 instead. We would rather pitch a tent in the local park.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy P, Manager at Inner Banks Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and would like you to know we have made substantial changes since your stay. The restaurant is now located in a separate building, The Whedbee House which is in between The Pack House and The Proprietors Building. The 2 rooms in The Tillie Bond Cottage have been converted into suites, each having a bedroom and sitting/living room. Both rooms in the cottage, 22 and 23 are still pet friendly.

Again, thank you for your comments and your honest review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Pack House is a series of buildings on a block near the Edenton Historic Site Visitors Center. We stayed in the Proprietor's, a large Victorian House on the corner. The staff was helpful in getting settled and answering questions. The second-floor room was large with a king bed and sitting area by the windows. Bed was very comfortable, and the Friday night quite quiet. Breakfast is in a separate building, a small cottage, and was buffet-style with coffee and tea service at the table. The food was good with a number of choices. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were in room fourteen, the folk art room, which was large and very clean, and on the first floor, which I needed. The owner had to bring us a portable radiator to heat the room which worked nicely and quietly. I loved the opportunity to get to know some of the other guests in the large public area akin to a living room, while watching the basketball game this weekend. The kitchen was homey and unpretentious and I felt very comfortable there. We had a fantastic breakfast that includes freshly made (warm) lemon pound cake, fresh fruit, eggs, sausage, ham, pancakes, potatoes, chilled juice, pastry, etc. This type of establishment was a perfect compliment to the historical setting of Edenton.

Room Tip: The website clearly states which floor each room is on and about handicap accessibility, which is av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We chose the Pack House Inn based on their reviews online and comments on their web site. They touted that they won an "innkeeper of the year" award so our expectations were high. When we arrived at their office the innkeepers acted like they did not want to get out of their chairs to greet us. They quickly checked us in and pointed to our rooms in another building. We found our room which was nice, well appointed and spacious. Their web site mentioned free wine which was now a charge. The kitchen had no snacks, just some crackers in a basket in the lobby that was store bought. Breakfast the next morning was pancakes that was nothing special. The waitress was pleasant and served us breakfast while the innkeepers stayed in the kitchen (you could hear them talking). One did come out for coffee for himself and they retreated back to the kitchen. Overall its a nice place but the hospitality was really lacking. We frequently stay at b and b's so we have many good experiences to compare this stay to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at The Pack House Inn and had a great time. It's within walking distance of the docks and lots of beautiful old homes. Room was clean and spacoius. Breakfast was very good and the service was great. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inner Banks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inner Banks Inn

Address: 103 East Albemarle Street, Edenton, NC 27932 (Formerly The Pack House Inn)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Edenton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Edenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inner Banks Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our romantic Edenton, NC bed and breakfast is set in the beautiful historic district, just two blocks from a vibrant downtown and the picturesque Albemarle Sound. Inner Banks Inn offers three beautifully restored homes to choose from, including a romantic Southern Victorian mansion, a converted pack house lodge, and a charming Carolina cottage. Guests will enjoy a hearty three-course breakfast each morning and dining at our new Edenton, NC restaurant The Table featuring American farm to table cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Inner Banks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pack House Hotel Edenton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inner Banks Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.