We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the few places worth the cost” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“one of the few places worth the cost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Attended a wedding function with this as the destination hotel last weekend. Large group and except for the slowness in the bar for food due to volume, it was almost perfect. Help is great at all levels highly recommend Angelo in the bar a true professional.

From the bellman to the housekeeping staff no detail is overlooked. If your in the RDU area it is a must stay. Duke University quality in all respects including the Golf course.

Room Tip: get a golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Milespert,

We’re so happy to know that you had an excellent experience at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! Guests often comment about the high level of service provided by our staff…its one compliment that we never get tired of hearing! It is our mission to ensure that all guests have a phenomenal stay. Thank you for your kind remarks about Angelo. He’s a remarkable team member and we’re excited to share this with him. We do apologize for your wait time in the bar. We try our very best to serve guests quickly and efficiently. We greatly appreciate your review and look forward to your return to the Inn!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    80
    27
    10
    10
See reviews for
146
71
25
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Enjoyed the classic, resort, traditional style hotel during a visit to Duke Univ. Took in the area restaurants so didn't partake of the food, but staff was very pleasant and accommodating without being stuffy. Great dining suggestions and directions from the concierge. Comfy beds, good housekeeping but a tad off mark with maintenance (shower handle fell off when adjusting, and black areas around caulking on tub).

Room Tip: Ask to be near the end of the hall for best views - otherwise you're blocked by trees if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear SCWDMIA,

Guest feedback is extremely important to us and we truly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club. We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and found our staff and concierge to be accommodating and friendly. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered in your bathroom. We will be sure to address this with our engineering team. Again, thank you for your review. We hope you will consider staying with us during your next visit to Durham!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in June while dropping my son off at Duke Basketball Camp. The hotel is across the street from the Duke campus and about a 15 minute walk to Cameron Indoor Stadium. My room was an average-sized king room, but it was neat and clean. The bed was comfortable with crisp linens, and I took advantage of the nightly turndown service. The staff was friendly, attentive and helpful. I did not visit the restaurant or bar. Overall, it is a fine hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear GoDawgs11,

Thank you for your gracious comments about the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! We’re pleased that you found our location convenient to campus, your guestroom to be comfortable and clean, and our staff to be friendly, attentive and helpful during your stay. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Was here for a conference in July. The property looks terrific and the hotel was comfortable and convenient. The staff were all helpful. The food in the bar was good, but a little expensive. Overall a great hotel and I would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear justlogical,

We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your conference and your stay at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! It’s wonderful to know that you found our staff helpful and our hotel comfortable and convenient. The Bull Durham Bar offers a unique dining experience and we’re happy you enjoyed the food. Thank you for sharing your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn soon!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Right across from the Duke University Campus and stuffed with memorabilia from the Duke family this hotel was a very pleasant surprise. First rate rooms, furnishings and food with a magnificent golf course. The prices (at least in the Summer!) were very reasonable. To star prices for a four star hotel. It's an easy walk to the famous Duke University Chapel and the hotel is right on a lovely three mile nature trail fro running or hiking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Ian M,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! You mentioned several of the wonderful features and amenities of our property. We are thrilled you had a wonderful visit and were able to explore and enjoy our beautiful hotel. Whether business or pleasure brings you back to Durham, we hope your visit includes the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here in connection with a meeting at Duke... a great location for anything having to do with Duke. Excellent facilities, a staff eager to please, good tap selections at the bar, and the feel of an old-world establishment altho the facility is only 25 years old.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Middkiddad,

We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! It is wonderful to hear that you found our staff accommodating and that you enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel. Our location just on the edge of Duke’s campus makes us an ideal location for university related activities and events. And there’s no better way to end the day than with a cold beverage in the Bull Durham Bar! We’re proud to offer our guests the very best in local brews. Again, thank you for sharing your comments. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

No complaints. Everything at this excellent hotel is perfect. Great service. Great rooms. Absolutely ideal. You won't find anything better than the Washington Duke Inn. Beautiful grounds. Wonderful rooms. Excellent food and beverage. Everything is top notch. If you expect the best, stay here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear FunTravelingAround,

We are so very pleased and humbled by your review! Our team works extremely hard to provide the very best service to our guests, and it is evident that you had a wonderful experience and were truly delighted during your stay. From the accommodations to the dining and amenities, we are glad your stay was “perfect”. Thank you again for the fantastic review. We can’t wait for your return to the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.