We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic resort hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club to your Saves list
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Classic resort hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Enjoyed the classic, resort, traditional style hotel during a visit to Duke Univ. Took in the area restaurants so didn't partake of the food, but staff was very pleasant and accommodating without being stuffy. Great dining suggestions and directions from the concierge. Comfy beds, good housekeeping but a tad off mark with maintenance (shower handle fell off when adjusting, and black areas around caulking on tub).

Room Tip: Ask to be near the end of the hall for best views - otherwise you're blocked by trees if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear SCWDMIA,

Guest feedback is extremely important to us and we truly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club. We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and found our staff and concierge to be accommodating and friendly. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered in your bathroom. We will be sure to address this with our engineering team. Again, thank you for your review. We hope you will consider staying with us during your next visit to Durham!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    85
    33
    12
    11
See reviews for
156
79
29
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in June while dropping my son off at Duke Basketball Camp. The hotel is across the street from the Duke campus and about a 15 minute walk to Cameron Indoor Stadium. My room was an average-sized king room, but it was neat and clean. The bed was comfortable with crisp linens, and I took advantage of the nightly turndown service. The staff was friendly, attentive and helpful. I did not visit the restaurant or bar. Overall, it is a fine hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear GoDawgs11,

Thank you for your gracious comments about the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! We’re pleased that you found our location convenient to campus, your guestroom to be comfortable and clean, and our staff to be friendly, attentive and helpful during your stay. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Was here for a conference in July. The property looks terrific and the hotel was comfortable and convenient. The staff were all helpful. The food in the bar was good, but a little expensive. Overall a great hotel and I would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear justlogical,

We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your conference and your stay at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! It’s wonderful to know that you found our staff helpful and our hotel comfortable and convenient. The Bull Durham Bar offers a unique dining experience and we’re happy you enjoyed the food. Thank you for sharing your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn soon!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Right across from the Duke University Campus and stuffed with memorabilia from the Duke family this hotel was a very pleasant surprise. First rate rooms, furnishings and food with a magnificent golf course. The prices (at least in the Summer!) were very reasonable. To star prices for a four star hotel. It's an easy walk to the famous Duke University Chapel and the hotel is right on a lovely three mile nature trail fro running or hiking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Ian M,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! You mentioned several of the wonderful features and amenities of our property. We are thrilled you had a wonderful visit and were able to explore and enjoy our beautiful hotel. Whether business or pleasure brings you back to Durham, we hope your visit includes the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here in connection with a meeting at Duke... a great location for anything having to do with Duke. Excellent facilities, a staff eager to please, good tap selections at the bar, and the feel of an old-world establishment altho the facility is only 25 years old.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Middkiddad,

We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! It is wonderful to hear that you found our staff accommodating and that you enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel. Our location just on the edge of Duke’s campus makes us an ideal location for university related activities and events. And there’s no better way to end the day than with a cold beverage in the Bull Durham Bar! We’re proud to offer our guests the very best in local brews. Again, thank you for sharing your comments. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

No complaints. Everything at this excellent hotel is perfect. Great service. Great rooms. Absolutely ideal. You won't find anything better than the Washington Duke Inn. Beautiful grounds. Wonderful rooms. Excellent food and beverage. Everything is top notch. If you expect the best, stay here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear FunTravelingAround,

We are so very pleased and humbled by your review! Our team works extremely hard to provide the very best service to our guests, and it is evident that you had a wonderful experience and were truly delighted during your stay. From the accommodations to the dining and amenities, we are glad your stay was “perfect”. Thank you again for the fantastic review. We can’t wait for your return to the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Washington Duke Inn beckons you to "sit and stay awhile." Filled with Southern charm amidst its beautifully-appointed decor and outside garden spaces, this hotel has everything that the discriminating traveler both needs and wants. Rooms are spacious and elegant. Dining facilities are top notch. The greens are manicured to perfection, and one can only hope to get a seat overlooking them, iced tea in hand, to appreciate fully the stunning setting in which you will find yourself. MOST HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Request a room nearest the pool and gym. A wonderful retreat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Beautyhuggeranonymous,

What a lovely review! We are so pleased that you were able to experience Southern hospitality at its best at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! Your comments about the hotel’s décor, your guestroom, our dining options and beautiful golf course views let us know you truly enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your high recommendation of our hotel. When you need to get away from the hectic paces of life, please know that we are ready to welcome you back!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.