We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class in the Research Triangle!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 67 hotels in Durham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First class in the Research Triangle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

In town for job interview. We spent 3 nights at this gorgeous hotel. The staff is first class, the rooms are very, very clean, and the food is top notch as well.
The legacy of the Duke family is posted on every wall - a great way to get a sense of the local history, traditions and community.
This hotel is a must for visiting the Durham area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    270
    75
    26
    10
    9
See reviews for
138
68
25
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stowe, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I had the privilege of staying at this hotel while in Raleigh for a one day conference. Excellent accommodation standard and friendly staff. I was able to squeeze in 18 holes of golf at the very affordable late day rate of $75 (included rental clubs, green fees, and cart). I had the caesar salad with grilled salmon for $19 and a delicious Red Oak Lager. The NCAA's were on every screen and made for an excited crowd. Unfortunately I did not get to explore the area so I can not comment to local attractions but with out a doubt if you need to be at or near Duke I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny, ny
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The people who work here are lovely, the grounds are pretty and the location is great for visiting Duke University. If you aren't a golfer or a parent/student, i'm not sure why you would stay here. The prices are high and the rooms are very dated. We did use the gym and it was great and the pool area was gorgeous and clean. In summary, stay for location but if you travel with kids and fork over the money for a suite, you'll want to get out of your very small suite asap. I'm serious. You have to walk sideways to get around the master bed (on one side) and the pull out sofa (when pulled out) Not a comfortable set up for a family.
The other hitch is that there are often events going on here and if you're room is on the scenic, golfing side, be prepared to listen to clinking glasses below your window. These didnt stop until 12:15am and the weather wasn't all that nice. In great weather I imagine the noise to be worse. If you are a light sleeper, you'll probably want to stay on the parking lot side.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaDuke, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for sharing your perspective on your recent stay at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club. It was great to know you enjoyed the grounds and our location. We are also delighted you liked the pool and fitness center area. I was sorry to read your room was not as spacious as you might have desired. We strive to provide a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and regret we fell short of your expectations in any way. We do have many options for other types of suites and/or connecting rooms that might work out better for you should you choose to revisit our area. I do hope we get to explore these options with you in the future and would welcome the opportunity to make amends. Thank you again for your feedback. Complaints, as painful as they are, make us better.

Sincerely,

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We go to Duke Medical Center every 6 months and we will be staying at this beautiful hotel from now on. We also ate dinner in the informal Bull Durham Bar. There was an hour long live radio broadcast of a Blue Devil basketball show. We were sitting under a speaker and the broadcast was very loud and distracting. We requested to be moved to the library room off the bar which was much quieter. Service and food were both excellent.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a room overlooking the golf course. The view is nice and the rooms are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

You can't beat the location if you need to be on campus. The hotel is obviously historic, so there are quaint parts to it, and spots where the ceilings are low and the rooms are small. There are lots of nooks with comfy seats in the common areas, and the outside areas with patios was really beautiful.

The rooms have been updated and the entire hotel is clean. Food was excellent. I found staff to be pleasant, but not as over the top and involved as others have mentioned. I would stay here again, but would say depending on your tastes and budget you might be equally happy elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stay here at least once a year and always love it. The common areas are luxurious and elegantly furnished with lots of chairs and sofas for reading, enjoying the view, or people watching. The outdoor patio overlooks the golf course and putting green. The standard rooms are a bit small for a luxury hotel so you may want to opt for a larger room or suite. No mater what time of year the common areas tend to be cool and a bit drafty. The inn has a causal restaurant and bar and an elegant gourmet restaurant. There is ample self parking in addition to valet.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Washington Duke Inn while attending Duke-UNC basketball game. From the men at the door, to the reception desk, to the waiters in the restaurant everyone had a smile and "can I help you." As busy as the inn was, each person took the time to make each guest feel special. The inn is obviously a pro at handling large numbers of fans and had bar and restaurant facilities ready and waiting. The restaurant "tailgating" buffet was an added pleasure. The best BBQ ever, lots of choices of fresh salad, desserts, and the best service ever for a really busy night. Then a quick walk to game, happy quick walk back, and comfortable, quiet night at the inn. The best place in Durham to stay especially if visiting Duke University.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Durham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.