We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find and attentive staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club to your Saves list
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great find and attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay here on a recent trip to Raleigh Durham. The staff genuinely cared about providing exceptional guest service and I was most impressed by the fact that the valet remembered my name when I bumped into him in the hallway. I would expect him to remember my name when looking at my ticket, but doing that out of context was very impressive. The desk and dining room staff were equally attentive. I was hoping to get in a round of golf but the weather didn't cooperate. The course looks fantastic, so I will be back.

Room Tip: I stayed in a Jr Suite facing the golf course. It was quiet and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    86
    33
    12
    11
See reviews for
158
80
30
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

If you want to feel pampered and find a place to re-charge, The Washington Duke is an excellent place to be. There is a golf court, indoor pool and wonderful restaurants. The setting is right off of the Duke campus so if you want to take a brisk walk, the scenery is beautiful. The staff is well trained and very willing to help. The lobby always has a glorious fresh flowers.

Room Tip: Rooms near the golf entrance are less traveled and a bit more secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Having grown up in nearby Hope Valley, my many trips back to my hometown are further enhanced by the WD&GC. Welcoming, efficient, elegant and hospitable. What else could one ask for in a fine hotel? If I had to nitpik, the food at the grill is far inferior to what is served in the main dining area. But other than that, I'm a lifetime customer.

Room Tip: Try and book far from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stay here on a regular basis, as we attend most of the Duke basketball games. The games are a short walk from the hotel.

We usually stay in a suite and add one additional room. The rooms are small, but nicely appointed. The staff is attentive and responsive to requests and details. It is exactly what one should expect at this price point.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had great service and a pleasant room with a view over the golf course. There's a great bar on the ground floor with a nice cocktail menu. The gym was small but sufficient.I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrah, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel is very nice. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. I am a grad student that has to visit the campus several times during my program and wanted to stay somewhere safe and I needed a shuttle to the campus so I wouldn't have to rent a car.

I found the best deal on the hotel website a few weeks before I left for my trip. They had a "3-night special" for $139/nt. It was comparable to a place I already booked so I decided to change my reservation to this hotel. The special only lasted a couple of days, as some of my classmates tried to get it and could not. The best deal I ever saw on Expedia/other sites was $159/nt, so I would recommend to check the hotel site or ask about this special when booking.

The hotel is very grand and beautiful. The rooms are VERY clean. The air in the rooms always smells fresh and clean which I have not experienced before. The Hilton has "clearn-air" rooms, but this smelled cleaner. It really seemed as if they had opened the windows everyday before I came back to my room.

I was originally in a ADA room on the 2nd floor, I am assuming because I had the special deal, which was fine at first. The room was clean and beautiful. The problem was the heavy handheld shower. My stay lasted 4 days and I could not use a handheld shower the entire time. Also, there was only a pedestal sink, no room for my toiletries. After the first night, I requested a room change and Sydney, a young woman at the front desk was very accomodating with my request.

The bellman even moved my bags for me to the new room since I had class all day. When I returned, I was in room 228 next to the elevators on the second floor. The room was grand and beautiful, but not quiet. I could hear girls laughing by the elevators and the front doors to rooms opening and closing every night until midnight and again the next morning. I really wished at this point I had stayed in the ADA room since it was quieter. I think there is another review on here from a guy who stayed by the elevators with the same problem. I would avoid this at all costs.

We went to eat at the Bull Durham restaurant on a Friday night. The place was packed with people and the wait for tables was long. We met the manager, I think his name was Alejandro? or something like that. After he found out we were staying in the hotel, he opened up the patio to seating with a heater so we could be seated immediately! Talk about first class service! And the food was phenomenal. I had a salad with homemade citrus fig dressing and the crabcakes. To die for. I had a Greensboro Hummingbird beer that was amazing as well. Best meal I ate while in Durham.

Overall, the stay was nice except for the door and noise issues. I enjoyed staying at this grand hotel. I am just a grad student, and not a dressy snob, but I was treated with the same first-class service as they would treat a king. I appreciate that. Just wish they would employ some noise-reducing measures for those rooms by the elevators.

Room Tip: Choose a room AWAY from the elevators. You will be hearing doors slamming and people laughing all ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinehurst, nc
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

A very, very nice hotel and very convenient if you are visiting Duke. The public rooms are beautifully decorated and the sleeping rooms are good sized and well appointed. The casual restaurant/ bar is attractive and has a rather varied menu for such a venue. Staff is attentive and the golf course is excellent.
One suggestion: be sure to check expedia or similar sites before reserving. I have regularly found much more reasonable rates than on the hotel site.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.