We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel replete with old school club atmosphere, lovely grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club to your Saves list
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Singapore
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Charming hotel replete with old school club atmosphere, lovely grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed five nights. The hotel is a large establisment in an even larger grounds which include expansive golf courses and an adjoining "forest". The atmosphere is reminiscent of an Old Boys' club, with the comfortable arm chairs throughout the elegant lobby and the walls adorned with portraits of distinguished alumni and family members of the Duke family.
The room was large and very well appointed. The bathroom had marble finishings and good quality toiletries. Mini bar, room safe, ironing board, flat screen TV and complimentary coffee and tea were included. Every floor has a handy ice machine. The queen bed was firm and I slept extremely well. Free wifi was also very welcome.
I dined twice at the restaurant. Both the service and the food/wine list were excellent and the prices fair. I also tried the breakfast where there is an extensive breakfast buffet although one can also choose from the a la carte menu.
What I loved most about this property is the grounds. Besides golf, there was nothing I found more invigorating than to take an early morning walk along the footpaths on the extensive grounds, I even saw deer darting about in the forest! There is also a good gym on site which opens as early as 430am! There is also an adjoining indoor pool and jacuzzi which i did not use.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    83
    29
    12
    11
See reviews for
151
75
27
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was one of the highlights of our trip, we stumbled upon Durham from a waiter we talked to in Wilmington and we were so pleased to get there and relax for a few days.
Golf course is A+, GPS on the carts was fantastic! Staff in pro shop very friendly, we bought new golf shoes and upon return to NZ we have been raving about the DUKE- the whole complex was very good.

Room Tip: Dont get the suite that overlooks the Bull Durham bar outside area, its noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, location, ambience, food and friendly staff. Disappointed that they've relaxed the dress code in their elegant dining room. Shorts and flip flops shouldn't be allowed, as well as small children who would probably rather be at Chucky Cheese, anyway.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

This place is remarkable. Upscale with impeccable service, from the doorman to the wait staff. We were here for a Duke football camp in June and returned for a game and the bellhop, Jun, remembered our names. We were treated so well, we did not want to leave. We have stayed in suites costing over $4,000 per night, but prefer this quiet little place. The only criticism I have is that the jacuzzi didn't work this time which was disappointing to my husband and kids. The breakfast is awesome as are the food and drinks in the Bull Durham Bar.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uganda
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Some minor issues like poor shower pressure but an enjoyable experience in a spectacular setting.What was particularly awesome were the front desk staff and the front door/ reception team..always willing to go out of their way and most helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here when dropping off our son at Duke. The advance reviews were superb, and we were not disappointed. The service was outstanding, the facilities superb, and the setting was beautiful (and a short walk to west campus). The only negative was the free wifi, which was iffy on the first day and failed completely on the second day. Otherwise, our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Beautiful, large charming hotel. Rooms lovely and staff at hotel lovely pleasant Two restaurants Both very good. One restaurant more formal and in a gorgeous room Location close to Duke. Hotel will also shuttle you to school. We were sad to leave! Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.