We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Lovely Place to Stay When Visiting Duke!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club to your Saves list
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Clearwater, FL
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“What a Lovely Place to Stay When Visiting Duke!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

This place is welcoming, old southern charm and first class all the way! Right across the street from Duke basketball and football facilities. The hotel is classy, yet warm and friendly. Feels like home! We had a suite, which was very spacious and nice with two baths. We also had a two queen room for the teenagers. Everything was great! The Bull Durham Bar was my favorite bar ever - Angel was the most attentive bar tender and server I've ever had. The breakfast was very good as we're the appetizers in the bar. The only bad thing about this hotel was the indoor pool. It was loud, with little kids screaming and no opportunity to enjoy the incredible views of the outdoors and the gold course.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    81
    27
    10
    10
See reviews for
148
71
25
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville Centre, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I hosted a business meeting here last month. The facilities and staff were outstanding. Very modern conference phone and LCD projector. Those who called in to listen to our meeting were very pleased with the voice quality of the equipment, which is often a problem at other business hotels. The meeting room was spacious and comfortable. We had a delicious hot breakfast; service was wonderful. Everyone was very happy with the rooms and the grounds. There is a nature trail around the property that received rave reviews from my colleagues. I would definitely return with my business group.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Fortunate to have this resort for a recent business trip. Resort grounds were impressive upon arrival with lots of historical memorabilia sprinkled through the resort honoring the famous Duke Family. Oppulently furnished with lots of "quiet nooks" throughout the facility, beautiful grounds to explore, a nicely accommodated gym, and several dining options (although pricey). I had a king bedroom suite with a nice well-furnished living room area with desk and french doors leading into a lavishly decorated king bedroom. View from my room was less than spectacular because I had a 2nd floor room with an obstructed view (RM 262). I'm sure other rooms have some great views of the golf course and other views of the well-maintained grounds.

Although dining was a bit pricey, the food was well-seasoned and service was top-notch.
The Chopped Salad in Bull Durham Bar is HUGE so it's best to have a big appetite. Breakfast buffet was about $19, but if you order from the menu, the service is rather quick and the serving sizes are quite filling and can save you some $$. The golf course snack bar (near the driving range and called "Nineteen" is the best bang for the buck for a quick, casual bite to eat. Eating area is outdoors and informal, but the food is the same food they offer inside the hotel for VERY affordable prices.

I would gladly return to this hotel to enjoy the "Lap of Luxury", but unfortunately it's outside my family's typical price range. Perhaps I'll be fortunate to have another business conference and I can bring my husband along. :)

Room Tip: The Chopped Salad in Bull Durham Bar is HUGE so it's best to have a big appetite. Breakfast buf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Comfy, quiet place with the fancy bells and whistles of luxury accommodations. If you need to come to Duke... And can afford it (or find a good deal like we did) this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Washington Duke Inn on May 2, 2012 to avoid getting up very early the next morning for some medical procedures at the Durham Regional Hospital. Our son who drove us to the Inn from Chapel Hill also joined us for dinner at the Inn's Bar. The Inn was quite busy that evening so not surprisingly, there was a bit of a wait for each course. We all enjoyed our dinner with one exception. I wanted a glass of rose but there was only one offered, a Biltmore House label. Since there was no other choice, I ordered it. That was a bad decision as this particular wine was not just not good ,, it was really bad. I should have sent it back but did not, because everything else was wonderful. A beautiful and quiet setting, a comfortable and well-appojnted room, courteous and professional staff, convenient location ... one could easily forgive a bad glass of rose!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My son and I just returned from Durham, N.C. and an excellent stay at the Washington Duke Inn. We were there for only a short time so location was everything. I can't think of a more convienent place to stay. The Duke campus has limited parking so walking is a must. As a matter of fact where we could park was farther from our destination on campus then the Inn. The hotel is a quick and easy distance from the airport. We rented a car and it was an easy driving distance away. It was cheaper to rent a car then to take a taxi to the hotel. However taxi's at the Inn are always available.

Room Tip: Golf cours view is prettier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Since the renovation and higher room cost, we have only been fortunate enough to stay here very few times in the last 10 years visiting our children at Duke. It is a perfect place to stay if you're visiting the campus. But we recently had our son's wedding and reception at the Duke Chapel and Gardens and planned the wedding weekend around staying at the "Wa Duke," as it's affectionately referred to by students. They organized a putting contest and served a wonderful rehearsal dinner with excellent courses and after wedding breakfast. They work well with all the local florists. I would highly recommend the junior suites which face the golf course. The experience was really positive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.