We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes to this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Durham near Duke University

Save Saved
You added Hilton Durham near Duke University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Durham near Duke University
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3800 Hillsborough Road, Durham, NC 27705   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Durham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Savannah, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yes to this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed here for a week while moving our daughter into her Duke apartment. Most everything was perfect. The shuttle taking you to any location within 5 miles was a nice perk and eliminated the need for a rental car. Only problem was a slow drain in the bathroom. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    94
    35
    28
    14
See reviews for
87
49
38
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel was an "experience" -- from the fun, friendly lobby to the quiet, luxurious room. My 14-year-old grandson and I were there to check him into a summer education program at Duke, and we both really enjoyed ourselves. The food was excellent, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our first time staying here, hotel was very clean and the rooms were super nice. Pool was nice. Great location. The staff was very friendly. I have to come here once a year and will definitly be staying here next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Convenient to Durham Performing Arts Center. Clean facility. Shuttle provided to and from the venue. Bar/room service not available after 11pm. The animal lovers would appreciate that pets are allowed. We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Melle, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stay here frequently while on business trips. I find the location and facilities relaxed and for the most part very quiet. It is convenient to all major roads, but far enough away to not have constant road noise. I find the lobby and the bar clean and relaxing and the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The lobby looks decent. However, the hotel is poorly designed. The elevators had issues. To take the stairs you had to walk a mile. They messed up my room and then lied on my face that I did not state my preference when I booked my room (which I did and paid extra for it). I stayed in a Suit that smelled cigarette (this is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel). The air conditioning system was noisy. Couldn't sleep properly. Would not recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dougpender10, Manager at Hilton Durham near Duke University, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Anil T,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is important to us and we will be sure to use it to improve the service and accommodations that we provide. Please accept my sincere apologies that you were given a room that smelled of cigarette smoke. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel and we strive to ensure that all guest rooms are maintained smoke-free. We have reviewed your comments with our housekeeping and maintenance team to ensure that future guests do not experience a similar issue. I am also sorry to hear that you did not like the layout of the hotel. We are working on an updated property map that more clearly identifies the three stairwells that are located to provide easy access from all 195 guest rooms.

Thank you again for helping us to improve in these areas so that we can provide the best hotel experience possible for our valued guests. I do hope that you will give us a second chance to accommodate you in the future, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly to arrange your reservation.

Kind Regards,

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This felt like a lower tier Hilton Brand hotel than an main stream tier Hilton. Location wasn't great. Pool only open 10am to 10pm. Staff seemed to fumble with complimentary breakfast tickets everymorning. Not bad, but just a lower tier brand hotel experience. Hopefully the pricing you pay will reflect this.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dougpender10, Manager at Hilton Durham near Duke University, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear briano586,
Thank you for sharing your recent stay with the Tripadvisor community. I am sorry to hear that our hotel did not provide the experience that you are accustomed to at other Hilton properties. We share the same promise to ensure that every guest feels valued, cared for, and respected, and I want to assure you that we care very much about your experience at the Hilton Durham near Duke University. Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you experienced with the breakfast coupons, as well as your dissatisfaction regarding the pool hours, and our location.

I will certainly review your comments with our maintenance staff regarding the pool hours, to see if we can open earlier or close later. We do take time each morning and evening to thoroughly check the pool for safety and cleanliness, however we also want to ensure that we balance this with the needs of our guests and provide access at hours that are convenient.

We are located within 2 miles of Duke and the downtown area with easy access to two major highways, but I can understand that it can be a challenge to find your way around. We do offer a complimentary shuttle service that runs seven days a week from 7am - 11pm, which we find is very helpful to guests visiting the area.

I am also confident that you will not have the same problems with the breakfast coupon process, thank you for allowing us to address this.

Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are visiting the Durham area. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to arrange your reservation.

Kind Regards,

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Durham near Duke University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durham near Duke University

Address: 3800 Hillsborough Road, Durham, NC 27705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#10 Business Hotel in Durham
#14 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Durham near Duke University 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel completed full, multi-million dollar renovation including all guestrooms and suites as of May 2013 ~ Located 2 miles from Duke University & Duke Medical Center ~ Only hotel in Raleigh Durham area to offer certified "Allergy Friendly" PURE rooms ~ All rooms feature mini fridge, digital laptop safe, HDTV with 60+ High Definition Channels and music ~ Complimentary wireless Internet access in all guestrooms and lobby ~ Courtesy transportation within a 5 mile radius ~ Complimentary on-site parking ~ 24 Hour Hilton Fitness by LifeFitness® ~ Complementary 24 hour Business Center (PC+MAC) ~ Seasonal outdoor pool & whirlpool(May-October)~ Starbucks® We Proudly Brew Coffee Bar ~ Bluestone Grille & Bar offering seasonal flavors of Carolina, and featuring a bountiful Hilton Breakfast Buffet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Durham near Duke University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durham Near Duke University Hotel Durham
Hilton Hotel Durham
Durham Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Durham near Duke University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.