We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating, as usual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Durham near Duke University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Durham near Duke University to your Saves list
Hilton Durham near Duke University
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3800 Hillsborough Road, Durham, NC 27705   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Spruce Pine, NC, United States
1 review
“Accommodating, as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

There was little choice of room as I didn't book in advance and there weren't any/many left. Late nite check-in means no cart nor valet but everything else was great. My room was directly in front of the elevators BUT I heard not a peep! A huge thing for me is bedding & there's was lovely. It's a gorgeous atmosphere if not prime location. I had problems w/ the internet but believe it was a sluggish website. I will stay there again WITH a promo code.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben L, General Manager at Hilton Durham near Duke University, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you reviewing your stay at the Hilton Durham near Duke University. We are proud of the amazing changes that the property has experienced over the past year, including the amazing beds and our new coffee by the “Coffee Bean Company” provided in each room. As you noted, our room are quite: They have been sound engineered which encompassed a new air conditioning system and sound dampening door seals during renovations to ensure a great night’s sleep. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you back soon.
Ben Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    114
    43
    31
    15
See reviews for
111
54
44
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forest, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

2nd time rooms were not correct with no compassion from Front Desk Employees. We stay there every eight weeks for Duke Hospital and each time there has been some kind of mix up. We will chose another hotel for our next eight week visitl I'm certain there are many other hotels that would love an every eight week guest to join them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben L, General Manager at Hilton Durham near Duke University, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us recently.
My sincerest apologies for the issues caused by not having connecting rooms and it is troubling that your rooms were not blocked in advance. While your rooms were adjoining side by side, I see that there was not a connecting door between them, which is what you requested. We always try to honor connecting room requests, but at times we are unable to do so if all connecting rooms are occupied, as was the case on the day of your booking and arrival.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to earn your trust again in the future.

Best Regards,
Ben Logan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had a great experience in Hilton hotel at Durham, NC. It is a beautiful hotel.The staff is very friendly and really helpful. Their rooms are neat, well appointed, and clean. They are very reasonably priced for 1-3. I would recomend it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was the third time I have stayed at this hotel, and found the service to be consistently excellent, particularly in comparison to other hotels in the area. I would not consider staying anywhere else in Durham.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here for several days with a family member before/after they had a medical procedure at Duke. The hotel not only gave us a medical rate (which helps out when you have to stay for several nights), but the staff was incredibly accommodating.

They were not only friendly, but very attentive and considerate of the fact that we were there for medical reasons.

Someone that must be mentioned by name is the daytime restaurant supervisor, Rachael Radcliffe. We had vouchers for breakfast but missed the time window b/c of having to be at Duke. By the time we back to the hotel, we were hungry, but saw that the buffet was already over. When we explained our circumstances to her, she treated us royally. Sensitive to our needs, she accommodated us in the nicest way and we were able to have breakfast.

She is a lovely, sweet and impressively professional employee, who we appreciated greatly.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben L, General Manager at Hilton Durham near Duke University, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. It gives me great pleasure to read that your encounters with our staff were friendly, attentive and considerate. It is also great to hear the Rachael made breakfast work for you even though the service time had passed. It is this level of service that we ask our team members to provide each and every day. It is reassuring to hear we are living up to Conrad Hilton’s promise of “filling the world with the light and warmth of hospitality”. I will make sure Rachael knows that how grateful I am for providing such great service. Thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Ben Logan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very nicely updated hotel. Comfortable beds, nice bathroom, in room coffee maker, flat screen television. We did miss not having a complimentary breakfast. Security was lax. Anyone could come and go as they pleased. The side doors were not locked (during the day, don't know about nighttime).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben L, General Manager at Hilton Durham near Duke University, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you reviewing your stay at the Hilton Durham near Duke University. We are proud of the amazing changes that the property has experienced over the past few months, including the amazing beds and our new Coffee Bean Company coffees and tea. As you noted the side entrance door near the Front Desk is unlocked during the day for the convenience of guests, please know that security of our guests and associates is our top priority. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you back soon.

Ben Logan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hotel has recently undergone a massive renovotion. The azure based motif was both stylish, and therapeutic, it put me in a oceanic vibe that I was especially into. Staff was extremely attentive and kind, its about a 5min drive frome Duke, and 10min from downtown. Neighborhood seemed quaint, not too much traffic. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben L, General Manager at Hilton Durham near Duke University, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences while staying at the Hilton Durham near Duke University. It is reassuring to hear about your experience with our new guest room product as the designer’s intent was to ensure all the comforts of home while maintaining functionality. However, the greatest asset we have is the outstanding hospitality of our team members who truly make the difference.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you again for your comments.

Ben Logan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Durham near Duke University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durham near Duke University

Address: 3800 Hillsborough Road, Durham, NC 27705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#11 Family Hotel in Durham
#12 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Durham near Duke University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel completed full, multi-million dollar renovation including all guestrooms and suites as of May 2013 ~ Located 2 miles from Duke University & Duke Medical Center ~ Only hotel in Raleigh Durham area to offer certified "Allergy Friendly" PURE rooms ~ All rooms feature mini fridge, digital laptop safe, HDTV with 60+ High Definition Channels and music ~ Complimentary wireless Internet access in all guestrooms and lobby ~ Courtesy transportation within a 5 mile radius ~ Complimentary on-site parking ~ 24 Hour Hilton Fitness by LifeFitness® ~ Complementary 24 hour Business Center (PC+MAC) ~ Seasonal outdoor pool & whirlpool(May-October)~ Starbucks® We Proudly Brew Coffee Bar ~ Bluestone Grille & Bar offering seasonal flavors of Carolina, and featuring a bountiful Hilton Breakfast Buffet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Durham near Duke University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durham Near Duke University Hotel Durham
Hilton Hotel Durham
Durham Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Durham near Duke University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.