We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully renovated hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Durham near Duke University

Save Saved
You added Hilton Durham near Duke University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Durham near Duke University
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3800 Hillsborough Road, Durham, NC 27705   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #15 of 67 hotels in Durham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautifully renovated hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

It was clear, when I stepped into our room, that it had recently been renovated. The decor was beautiful with a contemporary design. It was also very clean and comfortable. The towels were large and soft. The lobby of the hotel is very attractive and inviting and the staff was friendly and accommodating.

The location is close to the freeway and fine if one has a car. Otherwise, one has to rely on the hotel shuttle or a taxi to go just about anywhere.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    87
    35
    27
    14
See reviews for
79
47
34
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for 4 might durning a family wedding. This hotel was very clean the staff always made sure our every need was met. The continental breakfast was extensive and for $5.00 more a day you could upgrade to the full breakfast. Great deal. The food was good as well. Each night the gave us vouchers that allowed us to purchase happy hour drinks and apps. This was also an added bonus. We enjoyed relaxing at the pool, as well as..... Staying with the VIP team Duke! The entire team stayed there before a local game. Beds were very comfortable and the rooms were very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, North Carolina
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night while attending a local show at the Common Ground Theater. The room was larger than most I have stayed in and the beds were very comfortable. The room has an air cleaner to sanitize the air which gave the room a "fresh" smell. The linens and towels were soft and lush, the towels were the appropriate size, i.e. bath sheets for the shower. After the performance we went to the group of us came back to the lobby bar for a few drinks. The lobby had comfortable seating and reasonable priced drinks. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay there if we are even in Durham again. This was also a "Free Night" using Hilton Points so I did not have to pay for the room, and do not know what the room charge would have been.

Room Tip: Higher room as there is a convention area attached to the hotel and noise can be heard at the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I've stayed here a few times - all were so-so experiences.

they have a lot of construction underway - it's loud. It's very loud. It's louder than you think it is going to be,.It may be ending soon - but I'd make sure before I stayed there again.

The breakfast is not really what you would expect at a Hilton. It's not awful - just like everything else here - close but no cigar. There is no HHonors lounge, no real HHonors floor - it just really doesn't feel like a Hilton.

The rooms are q bit dark for my tastes - low wattage light bulbs to save energy. If you can get a suite that is a much better option. The suites tend to be quieter.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

As a major road warrior I look for hotels that provide consistent service and provide a property that permits me to work effectively, relax and unwind. This property which has beer recently remodeled offer such and with a real personal guest services touch! From the moment I arrived to check out the staff was always willing to assist and did so without coming across as pushy or uninvited. The rooms are well appointed and updated and provide a wonderful area to work and unwind. The restaurant and bar areas are perfect places to unwind and enjoy great food and drinks. After staying in several other hotels in the area, i will make this one my hotel of choice for the area. Highly recommend this property to fellow road warriors !

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing hotel front as most quiet of the rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben L, General Manager at Hilton Durham near Duke University, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences while staying at the Hilton Durham near Duke University. It is reassuring to hear about your experience with our new guest room product as the designer’s intent was to ensure all the comforts of home while maintaining functionality. However, the greatest asset we have is our warm and hospitable team members who truly make the difference. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you again for your comments.
Ben Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent two very pleasant nights here visiting family nearby. It's convenient and easy to find from the airport, located on a main road just off the highway. It's also very close to Duke, hence, its name. The front desk staff was very friendly and professional. The room was generally nicely appointed and good size, although someone goofed a little on the color scheme, i.e.,the curtains and sofa did not match the rest of the decor. We stayed in a deluxe king size room and were a little surprised there was no bathtub. The sink is a modern design, but the spigot was not very functional. Overall the room was fine, a very comfortable place to sleep. Because we were gold members, the continental breakfast was included and it had lots of fresh fruit, hot and cold cereal, bagels and lox, and toast and muffins. The restaurant staff was by and large very attentive and helpful.

Room Tip: I asked for and received a quiet room away from the elevator, which is my preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Durham for one night at the time of my brother-in-law's wedding. We were unable to stay for the entire time we were there, as the hotel did not have any availability for the other nights at the time we made our booking. By the time they decided to release additional rooms, we had already planned our visit based on the location of the other property. We paid about $20/night more for the Hilton than the Wingate by Wyndham State Arena in Raleigh, after receiving the wedding rate. I would say it's probably worth about that much more. It was a nice hotel with helpful staff, and I have no complaints. The staff went out of their way to accommodate special needs of another member of our party.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Durham near Duke University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durham near Duke University

Address: 3800 Hillsborough Road, Durham, NC 27705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#11 Business Hotel in Durham
#15 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Durham near Duke University 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel completed full, multi-million dollar renovation including all guestrooms and suites as of May 2013 ~ Located 2 miles from Duke University & Duke Medical Center ~ Only hotel in Raleigh Durham area to offer certified "Allergy Friendly" PURE rooms ~ All rooms feature mini fridge, digital laptop safe, HDTV with 60+ High Definition Channels and music ~ Complimentary wireless Internet access in all guestrooms and lobby ~ Courtesy transportation within a 5 mile radius ~ Complimentary on-site parking ~ 24 Hour Hilton Fitness by LifeFitness® ~ Complementary 24 hour Business Center (PC+MAC) ~ Seasonal outdoor pool & whirlpool(May-October)~ Starbucks® We Proudly Brew Coffee Bar ~ Bluestone Grille & Bar offering seasonal flavors of Carolina, and featuring a bountiful Hilton Breakfast Buffet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Durham near Duke University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durham Near Duke University Hotel Durham
Hilton Hotel Durham
Durham Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Durham near Duke University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.