We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect clean” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3710 Hillsborough Road, Durham, NC 27705   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #49 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Oriental, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't expect clean”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Veterans Administration contracts with this hotel so I've stayed twice. Both times, rooms were dirty; body hair in the bathtub and black finger marks on the doors. The carpet is both rooms was filthy. As an extra, I dealt with a sour receptionist each time. Seedy comes to mind.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash S, General Manager at Quality Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Oriental-Tat,

I am very sad to read about your experience with us. I assure you this is not the standard of our hotel. Guest satisfaction is our first priority. I hope you will give us another opportunity to give you a better impression in the future. If you have any issues with your hotel room, we would love to hear from you right away so we can correct any issues and provide you with a better quality stay. Your business is important to us. Please, contact Amanda, she is our new Operations Manager, at (919) 382-3388 ext 700.

Sincerely,

Pete Sambath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    33
    22
    11
See reviews for
32
16
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Nevada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

They are in the process of remodeling the property and we were able to stay in the renovated rooms. The Front desk was helpful and ckeck in was a breeze. They even replaced our tvs with flatsceens. The breakfast buffet was great and always had more than enough for everyone. The Location is great and there is a cracker barrel right next door. Enjoy

Room Tip: Top floor always
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaB_NC, General Manager at Quality Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and thoughtful review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conway, sc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We found this motel through Duke Cancer Center website as a motel that had special medical rates. So far we have stayed twice and have 4 more reservations in the next 6 weeks. We have only stayed in the rooms that have already been updated and always request those rooms only. The beds are very comfortable and all of the decor is newly painted, nice carpets, nice furniture, micro and small fridge. The rooms are on the small size, but for the price ($55) this is a bargain.

We did have some confusion when first making reservations and I was frustrated and almost called a different hotel, but Derek was great--friendly, and so helpful! He made sure all of my questions were answered and convinced me to give it a try and I am so glad I did. The breakfast is really nice--waffles, hard boiiled eggs, sausage, potatoes, bagels, cereals, fresh fruit, pastries--more than the usual. They have a free shuttle to the medical centers which is very convenient--no parking fees! And no driving when you aren't feeling so good! The Cracker Barrel is right next door--literally and an easy walk.

On our 2nd stay there was a mix up in our rooms because of the remodel and Chantall was amazing, bending over backwards to get things fixed for us. She even followed up the next day after she was off the clock to make sure everything was taken care of. She seemed so experienced--a real asset.

That being said, there is a remodel going on and one of the halls smelled like paint--we just asked ot be sure our room wasn't on that one. I am glad they are taking the time to remodel--the finished rooms are great and we are looking forward to all of our stays.
All in all a great value!

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room (right now that is the 3rd floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaB_NC, Manager at Quality Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hello Cindy! I was going through all of our Trip Advisor reviews and found this one. I am so sorry that I didn't respond before.

It's been a long time since we've seen you, and I hope you are both doing well. We have finished our renovations and have made so many wonderful changes.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We hope to see you again, maybe you'll get the chance to make a leisure visit to Durham and will come stay with us. We certainly hope so!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I planned a visit to family in Chapel Hill and due to football schedules, tried HOTELS.COM for a reasonable hotel rate. Quality was ranked 3.5 on satisfaction so I booked the room for two nights. 1. HOTELS.COM charged me $5.00 more than the hotel would have charged me off the street. 2. The hotel was atrocious. Seedy. Worn Carpets. Vanilla disinfectant. Stained carpets in room. Mold. Not a suite. Noisy. All Night! No room housekeeping service. Room not made up or cleaned after first night. Trash still laying around. I would rather sleep in the stadium than ever stay here again. Ruined a delightful trip. Everyone top to bottom should be ashamed!

Room Tip: Go to Holiday Inn. Hilton Inn. Anywhere but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash S, General Manager at Quality Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear SKPDavis, I am very sorry to read about your experience with us. I apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay. Guest satisfaction is our top priority. You may have noticed we are under renovations. We are working on our property from top to bottom. Every room is being renovated with new carpet, beds, tvs, bathroom fixtures, etc. We are making big changes to our hotel. I sincerely hope you will give us another chance should you come to the area again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed on the 3rd floor. Nice, clean room! interior halls on this floor. Key access to interior halls. Air conditioner worked well. Older property but VERY clean. Courteous helpful people at front desk.

Room Tip: 3rd floor for interior hall rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash S, General Manager at Quality Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We are in the process of renovating the hotel from top to bottom. I hope you will have a chance to come back and see all the wonderful changes we are making to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed here in July due to business at Duke. Lots of folks going to Duke Medical Center, like veterans, appear to stay here. Note that first two floors have exterior corridors and the third one has interior corridors. So if you want interior, request it at time of reservation. We did and it was honored. Positives: The only reasonably priced hotel I could find close to Duke, rooms have fridge and microwave and coffee maker, free newspaper, price is almost right at about seventy bucks. Cons: Old property in need of renovation, consequently soft uncomfortable bed, stale carpets, worn out A/C etc. Breakfast was barely average. Price reflective of quality will be more like fifty to sixty bucks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash S, General Manager at Quality Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Guest satisfaction is always our top priority. We are currently under top to bottom renovations and will take your review under advisement as we make renovation decisions. We hope you will stop in and visit us again if you are in town in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodlawn, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was a strange check-in experience. First, they had extended the stay of the person in the room that we were assigned to without notifying the front desk. The only rooms available had freshly painted doors with a strong paint odor. The front desk clerk had to personnally go upstairs and try to find an empty room since I had a guarenteed room. She gave me the room with the driest paint. Although we got a room it did smell like paint all night. The room itself was nice. The breakfast was very nice with fried sausage and potatoes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash S, General Manager at Quality Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Michael M,

I am very sorry to hear about your check-in experience and issues with the paint odors. We are currently under renovations and do appreciate your patience with us as we undergo the process. Guest satisfaction is our first priority and I sincerely hope you will give us another chance by visiting us again should you ever come to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn and Suites

Address: 3710 Hillsborough Road, Durham, NC 27705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located off I-85 and within minutes of Duke University and Duke Hospital. All of our rooms include a 32" Flat Screen, Luxury Vanities, Refrigerator, Microwave, and more.Come an enjoy a relaxing swim in our newly reconstructed pool! We also offer a complimentary expanded continental breakfast with hot items in the mornings, business center and 24 hour access to fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Durham
Quality Inn Durham
Durham Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.