We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finest staff imaginable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Durham Marriott City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Durham Marriott City Center to your Saves list
Durham Marriott City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Foster Street, Durham, NC 27701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Durham
des moines
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Finest staff imaginable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

We were shocked at how helpful the staff was here. Requested a rollaway at the desk and it made it up to the room before we did! Directions, shuttle driver, info, help printing boarding passes, concierge, bartender...it never ended. The front desk people could not be stumped and if they could of, there was someone right there to back up. We were there to see ballgames but found much more thanks to staff. Oh yeah, forgot about the friendly, quick room service.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    93
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
37
53
22
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

I've never had a bad trip to this Marriott. The staff is always on top of check in and the room is clean, enjoyable and well-decorated. Bathroom is nicely appointed. Parking across the street is fine -- just a short walk across a road which is never that busy. Restaurant and bar are good and common areas excellent. It's a super venue for Full Frame Documentary Film Festival -- just go from theatre to theatre. Everything is convenient. Nice outdoor area.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

The highs: The room (8th floor) was very nice, looked to be newly remodeled. The location is very convenient to Duke University and downtown Durham.

The lows: The parking situation is pathetic. On the night we stayed, we were told to park in the hotel's parking lot which is across the street and down an alley behind some buildings. It is not fenced or secured, and the night we were there, wasn't even illuminated with street lamps. Since we drive a soft-top convertible, we did not park there. The service desk advised that valet would park the car in the same lot. So, we parked at the much safer-looking and better illuminated Civic Center parking lot a block away.

The concierge lounge was poorly stocked. Didn't even have bottled water.

The room came with two towels. That's it, so plan on ordering more or drying off with a wet towel once it has been used.

The night we stayed was graduation weekend (Duke) and prom night for the local high schools. In spite of these planned events, the Marriott was inadequately staffed to handle the needs of the customers. The security guard had to pitch in for valet parking cars. There was one front desk person and one restaurant employee providing commentary at the desk. Overall, it was a cluster.

A shame - overall it's a nice hotel (physically). Just needs an investment in fencing/security around the parking lot and an investment in more personnel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

I stayed at this hotel during a recent business trip to Durham. The parking mentioned in other reviews is not that bad. It's very close.

The staff was very nice and helpful.

Most hotels have HD TVs now, but this place actually had crystal clear HD channels to go along with it..... even HDNet!! This is, without questions, the best TV picture quality of any hotel I have stayed in.

The food served in the consigiere lounge was awesome. Far better than I've had at other Marriotts. Make sure you check to see what movies are playing on the Carolina Cinema's two screens, which are attached to the side of the convention center. I saw a current movie in one of the small auditoriums during a weekday evening. There were only two other people in the theater - it was great!

Almost forgot - the internet service is free at this full service Marriott!! All others carge around $10 per day for this.

Overall, one of the nicest hotels I have visited and will definitely stay there again if my travels take me to Durham.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

We stayed here on a trip to visit family in Durham. The room was okay and the crib was passable. The problem was that they did not have the type of room we reserved. So, at check-in they informed us of this and upgraded us at no extra charge to the top floor. Those who stay on the top floor have a few extra amenities such as a breakfast room. I called downstairs to confirm that this was the case and was told that yes we could proceed to the lounge and have breakfast. Then I received a return call informing me that they were mistaken and that we were not eligible for the extra amenities associated with staying on the top floor because we had not originally booked this room. I pointed out that I had just called and was told otherwise. Then, the hotel employee conceded that we should have what we were promised during the first call. I said it was fine either way but I didn't appreciate being misinformed when I called specifically to clarify a simple question. I then received a second call from a new hotel employee who lectured me on why we were not eligible for the breakfast room. It seemed that this person called only to emphasize that they were in the right, which was obnoxious. She also informed me that the room we were staying in was normally "very expensive" which was quite insulting, partly because a) it was not and b) we had not asked to be assigned to this room. We will not stay here again given the way the staff handled such a petty issue.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, NC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

I chose this hotel only for its proximity to the Durham Performing Arts Center, but was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the property and service. The first thing I asked for was directions to the Peforming Arts Center. The desk clerk gave me a map and showed the directions, but added that the hotel has a courtesy shuttle both before and after the show and just to come down to the lobby 10 minutes before I wanted to go. I had to be at the Performing Arts Center at 6:15 so came down at 5:45 The courtesy van was already on another run and I was told that he would be back in ten minutes. I waited and thought about walking because it was close. A desk clerk who had just gotten off work came up to me and said he would run me over in his car. WOW...I would have walked and not felt anything negative about the hotel, but this unexpectedly outragous service that was offered was definitely impressive. Before I got out of his car, he made sure I had the hotel phone number programmed on my cell so I could call for a pick up after the show. But it was a nice night and chose to walk home. Yes, I said "home", because the staff at this hotel made me feel like I was at home.

The room was beautifully appointed with more amenities than one usually finds in hotels. They have great Hi Def TVs with many cable channels. The public areas and room were spotlessly clean and well maintained.

I would also point out that the parking some others have complained about is only a short walk (1/2 a block) away, well marked, and easy to access. I only had one small bag and a guitar so I parked and carried them to the hotel. However, the hotel also has luggage carts and bell services for those with larger quantities of lugguage.

All in all, I would say the parking is great compared to other cities the same size as Durham.
If I return to Durham again, I will not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, VA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

Staff looked as if they didn't know what they were doing during check in, which took much longer than it needed to. They seemed thrown by the fact that a friend booked the reservation (as part of a wedding group). The parking lot 2 lots away across the street was inconvenient, and the bellman (who was extremely nice and helpful) gave better directions to it than the front desk staff. The hotel has no airport shuttle. The room was decent, with nice bedding and a new LCD television. I had to call the front desk three times before anyone answered to give me the checkout time. The room was comfortable, bathroom was decent enough, and the view was ok. However, the day after leaving I found my credit card had been charged for $570, for a one night stay with no additional charges, which was supposed to be $100 according to the video checkout folio. When I called to clarify, I spent 30 minutes on hold, first with one woman who could not find the charges, came back after 15 min. to tell me she had to check with the front desk, then came on to say they could not find anything and she would put me through to someone in accounting. The accounting person also could find nothing relevant, and said she would have to talk to the staff who worked that weekend, and took my number and said they would call me back. I never heard back from them, though the person who made the reservation got a call back after she herself called to inquire about the charge. Ulitmately they corrected the charge. Overall a nice enough hotel badly in need of better customer service.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Durham Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott City Center

Address: 201 Foster Street, Durham, NC 27701
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Durham
#25 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Durham Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Durham Marriott City Center. Situated downtown, you'll love how the hotel and the city seamlessly blend the modern and the historic. The Durham Marriott City Center is connected to the 44,000 square foot Durham Convention Center and adjacent to the beautifully restored Carolina Theatre. Minutes away from Duke University, Duke Hospitals, and North Carolina Central University, this modern hotel compliments the heritage and classic architecture found throughout the city. Designed for both the business traveler and family vacationer, our comfortable accommodations and outstanding Marriott service ensure a memorable and productive visit. The Durham Marriott City Center is known for its helpful and knowledgeable staff that will ensure you get the most from your stay. Rooms at the hotel include Marriot's luxurious revived bedding package accompanied by high-definition flat screen televisions. Guests on the concierge level enjoy the added benefit of the concierge lounge serving appetizers and snacks Sunday evening through Friday morning. All guests appreciate the state of the art fitness center highlighted by eight units with 17 inch TV screens. Dining options include the 2 zero 1 restaurant with continental American dining and a casual atmosphere. The 2 zero 1 lounge offers nightly specials and a relaxed setting. So what are you waiting for? Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Durham Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Marriott City Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durham Marriott City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.