We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located Marriott in Durham” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durham Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Durham Marriott City Center to your Saves list
Durham Marriott City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Foster Street, Durham, NC 27701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Perfectly located Marriott in Durham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This full Marriott is located in the heart of downtown, easy walking distance from dozens of restaurants, three or four blocks from the Bulls stadium and Durham Performing Arts Center, and is immediately adjacent to the Carolina Theater. The rooms have been refurbished relatively recently and my two stays there in the last year have been great. I believe the drawback, to the extent there is one, may be the cost of parking, but only compared to the free parking at most hotels in the Durham area. There is street parking around the hotel and a facility a block to the north that is reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are likely to be marginally quieter, but the streets around the hotel are no...
See more room tips
Green Features: I really don't have any particular thoughts about these practices.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,
We are happy to hear that both of your stays were great. We thank you for always staying with us and look forward to continuously having you here at our hotel where you can do lots of good things in walking distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    105
    44
    10
    6
See reviews for
43
59
24
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed here on a Wed night to see a baseball game at the Durham Park. Awesome location as I could walk to the baseball field. Staff was very nice and helpful. Room was very clean and well appointed, Loved the Executive Lounge, food and staff were better than most. Gym was clean and equipment worked. Did valet park with zero issues. Met the GM and he was very nice and helped out like the rest of the staff. I definitely would stay here again and recommend it to anyone coming to Durham.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us while you were attending Triple A Baseball All Star Game! We really do appreciate your time and effort to greatly review and compliment us. Please come back to enjoy our service and this amazing city as we have so much more to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I arrived at the Durham Marriott City Center in the middle of a thunderstorm, which wasn't the best omen! However, my fears weren't realised as my stay turned out to be a great experience.
My room was large, clean and well-appointed and the restaurant served top quality meals. Above all else, the staff was fantastic, always helpful, friendly and attentive.
I didn't have a car but the hotel is perfectly situated, within walking distance of the historic districts, the Durham Bulls stadium, the free city centre bus route (which I used to get to Duke University) and a number of restaurants and coffee shops.
A really great Marriott!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,
We are glad to hear that you were here with us safe and enjoyable during the thunderstorm. And thank you so much for the compliments on our staff service. We are here to serve you so please come back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding in Durham. From the moment we arrived the staff was attentive and courteous. Great location with many restaurants and activities within walking distance. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. The valet staff was awesome, even making recommendations for golf for my husband and friends and informative on drive times for our sightseeing adventures.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,
We are excited to hear that you had wonderful wedding weekend with us. Our staff will also love to hear about your compliments on our service. Thank you again and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed at the Marriott City Center in Durham, NC overnight June 13th because we were attending the American Idol concert at DPAC and did not want to drive 100 miles home afterwards. DPAC is only about a 3 block walk from the Marriott so we did not have to drive OR take a taxi. That was a wonderful Perk.
From Check in to Check out, this hotel was wonderful. The staff from the Valet that parked our car to the check in people to the housekeepers to the host and wait staff and cooks in the restaurant were above the top. Every one went out of their way to help us. For example, I had cut my hand when we went out to eat and it was bleeding and I could not seem to get the bleeding stopped. Of course, we had no bandaids. The wonderful lady behind the counter found me some supplies in their first aid kit that I was able to use. They did not have to do that.
Also, I am on a very specific special diet and the restaurant bent over backwards to accommodate my needs.
Everyone was friendly and helpful.
The room was very nice. The hotel is older, but it does not matter. The furnishings were updated. The room was very clean. The bed was very very comfortable. Nice Flat screen TV with plenty of stations. You can even rent movies from off the TV. The water pressure was great.
So many places to eat within walking distance of the Marriott. The Tobacco Warehouse is within walking distance and is right across the street from DPAC. We ate at Tyler's and enjoyed the Grilled Chicken Salad and Salmon salad respectively. They have a large variety of Beer on Tap.
Was so nice not to have to worry about driving home after the show.
We will definitely visit the Marriott again when we are visiting Durham again.

Room Tip: As for a corner room on an upper floor. The view is spectacular of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear guest,
We are excited to see your FIVE STARS compliments on our staff starting from our Valet/Bell Service Attendant to Front Desk, housekeepers, host, wait staff, and cook. We are also very happy to hear that you really enjoyed our hotel and surrounding areas. Please come back to see us, we will definitely again serve you at our best. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Staff were polite, greeted us every possible opportunity, and constantly asked if they could do anything to make our stay better and more comfortable. We had a great time. The fitness center was clean, and among the better I've seen in large hotel chains.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear guest,
Congratulations on your wedding and we are glad to hear that you had a great time. Our staff will love to hear your compliments and thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Downtown Durham and Duke campus are fun places to explore for a weekend getaway & this hotel is right in the center of it. Hotel bed very comfortable & nice bathroom - big TV with HBO although WiFi appears to cost $10/day - gave up trying to get around that charge Within walking distance to Durham Bulls Stadium, Saturday Farmer's Market, plenty of great restaurants, and helpful Visitor's Center. Also Amtrak/Megabus/Greyhound stations a couple of blocks away plus free City Connector Bus running up/down Main St. & into Duke campus makes having a car not necessary. Suggest renting movie Bull Durham to get you psyched for your visit. (And definitely stop at the ice cream parlor right outside the hotel for homemade heaven.)

Room Tip: get a top floor on Durham Bull Stadium side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your time and effort to leave us great review with details. And “Yes” we have lots of things for you do here in Durham. In addition to what you already mentioned, we have Durham Performing Arts Center, North Carolina Theatre, Arts Council, many delicious eateries and much more. Please come back and enjoy us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Durham Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott City Center

Address: 201 Foster Street, Durham, NC 27701
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Durham
#17 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#24 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Durham Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Durham Marriott City Center. Situated downtown, you'll love how the hotel and the city seamlessly blend the modern and the historic. The Durham Marriott City Center is connected to the 44,000 square foot Durham Convention Center and adjacent to the beautifully restored Carolina Theatre. Minutes away from Duke University, Duke Hospitals, and North Carolina Central University, this modern hotel compliments the heritage and classic architecture found throughout the city. Designed for both the business traveler and family vacationer, our comfortable accommodations and outstanding Marriott service ensure a memorable and productive visit. The Durham Marriott City Center is known for its helpful and knowledgeable staff that will ensure you get the most from your stay. Rooms at the hotel include Marriot's luxurious revived bedding package accompanied by high-definition flat screen televisions. Guests on the concierge level enjoy the added benefit of the concierge lounge serving appetizers and snacks Sunday evening through Friday morning. All guests appreciate the state of the art fitness center highlighted by eight units with 17 inch TV screens. Dining options include the 2 zero 1 restaurant with continental American dining and a casual atmosphere. The 2 zero 1 lounge offers nightly specials and a relaxed setting. So what are you waiting for? Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Durham Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Marriott City Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durham Marriott City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.