We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, nice hotel but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durham Marriott City Center

Save Saved
You added Durham Marriott City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Durham Marriott City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Foster Street, Durham, NC 27701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #24 of 67 hotels in Durham
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great staff, nice hotel but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night. The staff were really nice and friendly. The room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable but there were two major problems. First the heating unit was ridiculously noisy. Without it on, the room was too cold, With it on, you couldn't sleep because of the noise. The second problem was the shower. The drain was not working fast enough while I tried to get the temperature warm enough for my shower and the hot water ran out before I was done washing my hair (this was NOT a long shower).

I got this room on a Priceline reservation so for the money it was good value but bad heating units are one of my pet peeves and this one was one of the worst.

I had breakfast at the buffet and the omelet was one of the better ones I have had at a buffet in quite a while. The fresh fruit was also excellent and the service was quite good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoochanKim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and giving us great comments. I will share your compliments with Front Desk, Housekeeping and the Restaurant team. They will be happy to hear. And I will also address your concern with Engineering team for the improvement so we can serve you better next time. Thank you so much again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    72
    39
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
48
19
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed 3 nights with this hotel and it was great! Rates were right, staff was great and the restaurant was really good and priced well. The concierge level was really nice and the AM & PM concierges were just like family. I've stayed there 4 or 5 times over the last 2 years and I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_Jeffries, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for always staying with us and giving us great comments. I will share your compliments with Concierge and the Restaurant team. They will be happy to hear. Thank you again and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have stayed here several times when visiting our family. The hotel staff is very competent and friendly and the hotel is clean and well maintained. The washcloths were a bit thin for my taste. The bed was very comfortable. The only complaint I have is the Sunday breakfast. We generally have breakfast before we get on the road on Sunday morning and it has happened each time that the restaurant has been grossly understaffed. It was fine on Saturday, but on Sunday about 30 people trickled in and completely overwhelmed the one waitress. Not only could she NOT remember anything we asked for, but her organizational skills left a LOT to be desired. We got no menus, one more OJ than we had ordered, no hot sauce or ketchup. You get the picture. Mind you, she was not sitting around doing nothing. She was just visibly overwhelmed and frazzled and although friendly, not the sharpest knife in the drawer. It took us 40 minutes to get our omelet -- actually I wanted to order one off the menu, but menus never came so to get things moving along we went for the buffet. The buffet was very spare - more motel than hotel food and the plates were cold, cold, cold. So the minute you put the food on the plate, it instantly became frigid. Marriott is a competent chain and this is not up to their standards. Get a plan B for more help Marriott, or cross train your people!! Too bad there was not another option for breakfast in downtown Durham. Guess everyone is in church on Sunday morning, so this is the best option if you want to eat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_Jeffries, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you staying with us and giving us great compliments. But we were also disturbed to hear that we didn’t completely satisfy you due to our breakfast operation. We will not only share your good comments but also your concerns with our team for the improvement. Please call us directly at 919-768-6011 and we will make sure we serve you better for your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Girls' weekend to see Jekyll and Hyde! Hotel was in the perfect location. Walking distance to the theatre and restaurants. Staff was very friendly and courteous especially Jahmed Mills at the front desk. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_Jeffries, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear guest,
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and the service. I will also speak with Jahmed about your compliments. Thank you so much again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have stay here twice while in the Durham area. It is very friendly and clean- great in-room dining choices for a variety of diets. The work out area is small but efficient and well kept. The parking is easy enough, but it is across the street- valet option is available. The city area has perked up this past year, though there is not a whole lot of places to go within walking distance. For us it is the nicest place to stay when we are visiting Duke Hospital.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_Jeffries, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us! And our staff will be very happy to hear your great comments. Our hotel will always welcome you with this great City of Durham where you can do many exciting things. Going to Carolina Theatre, Durham Performing Art Center, Durham Bulls, and tasting great food in many popular local restaurants…. Please come back to see us. We will again best accommodate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fincastle, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great experience at the Marriot City Center hotel in Durham. It was incredibly easy to find, very friendly FREE valet service for women travelling alone (or alone with kids). A short, easy walk to the Durham Performing Arts Center (DPAC).
Positives: super-clean, all white bed linens, clean restaurant, nice views of Durham, nice staff.
Negatives: decor was ho-hum, lobby and rooms were (yawn) nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_Jeffries, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us in this great city Durham where you can do many exciting things. I will share your compliments with our staff especially with Valet and Housekeeping team. They will love to hear! Thank you again and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

When it come to service, this hotel has it. Shawantha was the best. This is what makes a stay a stay with first class service. If it was not for the this kind of service, we would not have stayed this far from the airport nor research triangle park. The bar, the front desk, and the best was the concierge lounge was the best. The hotel is a little dated, but service makes a difference and this hotel has it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_Jeffries, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and giving us great comments about our staff service. I will share your compliments with everyone especially with Shawantha. They will love to hear it. We are so glad that you enjoyed our hotel and we will continue to do our best to serve all your needs. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Durham Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott City Center

Also Known As:
Durham Marriott City Hotel Durham
Durham Marriott City Hotel
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott
Address: 201 Foster Street, Durham, NC 27701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Durham Marriott City Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Durham Marriott City Center. Situated downtown, you'll love how the hotel and the city seamlessly blend the modern and the historic. The Durham Marriott City Center is connected to the 44,000 square foot Durham Convention Center and adjacent to the beautifully restored Carolina Theatre. Minutes away from Duke University, Duke Hospitals, and North Carolina Central University, this modern hotel compliments the heritage and classic architecture found throughout the city. Designed for both the business traveler and family vacationer, our comfortable accommodations and outstanding Marriott service ensure a memorable and productive visit. The Durham Marriott City Center is known for its helpful and knowledgeable staff that will ensure you get the most from your stay. Rooms at the hotel include Marriot's luxurious revived bedding package accompanied by high-definition flat screen televisions. Guests on the concierge level enjoy the added benefit of the concierge lounge serving appetizers and snacks Sunday evening through Friday morning. All guests appreciate the state of the art fitness center highlighted by eight units with 17 inch TV screens. Dining options include the 2 zero 1 restaurant with continental American dining and a casual atmosphere. The 2 zero 1 lounge offers nightly specials and a relaxed setting. So what are you waiting for? Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Durham Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durham Marriott City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.