We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly- perfect when visit Duke Hospital” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durham Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Durham Marriott City Center to your Saves list
Durham Marriott City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Foster Street, Durham, NC 27701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Charlotte
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly- perfect when visit Duke Hospital”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have stay here twice while in the Durham area. It is very friendly and clean- great in-room dining choices for a variety of diets. The work out area is small but efficient and well kept. The parking is easy enough, but it is across the street- valet option is available. The city area has perked up this past year, though there is not a whole lot of places to go within walking distance. For us it is the nicest place to stay when we are visiting Duke Hospital.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_Jeffries, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us! And our staff will be very happy to hear your great comments. Our hotel will always welcome you with this great City of Durham where you can do many exciting things. Going to Carolina Theatre, Durham Performing Art Center, Durham Bulls, and tasting great food in many popular local restaurants…. Please come back to see us. We will again best accommodate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    93
    39
    9
    5
See reviews for
37
53
22
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fincastle, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great experience at the Marriot City Center hotel in Durham. It was incredibly easy to find, very friendly FREE valet service for women travelling alone (or alone with kids). A short, easy walk to the Durham Performing Arts Center (DPAC).
Positives: super-clean, all white bed linens, clean restaurant, nice views of Durham, nice staff.
Negatives: decor was ho-hum, lobby and rooms were (yawn) nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_Jeffries, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us in this great city Durham where you can do many exciting things. I will share your compliments with our staff especially with Valet and Housekeeping team. They will love to hear! Thank you again and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

When it come to service, this hotel has it. Shawantha was the best. This is what makes a stay a stay with first class service. If it was not for the this kind of service, we would not have stayed this far from the airport nor research triangle park. The bar, the front desk, and the best was the concierge lounge was the best. The hotel is a little dated, but service makes a difference and this hotel has it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_Jeffries, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and giving us great comments about our staff service. I will share your compliments with everyone especially with Shawantha. They will love to hear it. We are so glad that you enjoyed our hotel and we will continue to do our best to serve all your needs. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My friend and I were here for two nights last week. It was great! The rooms were clean, and offered plenty of space. The staff is very friendly, and offered free valet parking for women traveling alone. However, sometimes the wait for the valet could become irritating. They either got the car right away, or you had to wait ten minutes just to find someone. The only other downfall was the fact that the bathroom had no vent so the mirrors fogged up really quickly. It didn't bother us too much though. I must add that the beds were very comfortable, and there's a good selection of cable (hbo).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_Jeffries, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. Our hotel is in this great city of Durham where you can do many exciting things. Going to Carolina Theatre, Durham Performing Art Center, Durham Bulls, and tasting great food in many popular local restaurants…. Please come back to see us. We will again best accommodate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel itself was at the lower range of a typical Marriott. The lobby and our room looked presentable but dated. The staff, however, was great: friendly and quick to offer help. The hotel was convenient to the Convention Center as there was a direct passage to the Center from the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_Jeffries, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for giving us great comments that our staff will love to hear. We will continue to do our best to serve all your needs. Please come back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Durham Marriott City Center over the weekend. We booked the concierge floor and assumed there would be the breakfast, drinks and service that we usually get at Marriotts. To our dismay, the concierge floor is not open Saturday or Sunday until the evening. Also, there is no concierge at the hotel period. We might as well have stayed on a regular floor. It is also difficult to get a cab at this hotel. Finally, the trains run as early as 4:00AM and if you are a liight sleeper, this can be a problem.

On the plus side, the limited staff was very nice. I disagree with other reviews about the parking. It is easily available right across the street. This is much better than many hotels where you wait forever for the valet. if you don't want hotel food, there are some coffee houses and a McDonalds nearby.

If you have time, rent bikes from a nearby shop like Bullseye Bicycles, and ride the ATT or Ellerbee Creek Trails.

Generally downtown Durham is not a very happening place. Raleigh is more fun!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_Jeffries, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced because of our concierge service. We close our lounge Friday afternoon and reopen Sunday afternoon like all other Marriott Hotels so if you were not informed properly from us while you were making a reservation, please call me directly at 919-768-6011 for me to follow up. I am so sorry about this miscommunication and please give us another chance to show you Durham Marriott at its best when your travel brings you here again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have stayed over 300 room nights in many different Marriott's around the world. This property was a disappointment. Things started off well as we were greeted by the bellman/doorman upon arrival. He let leave our car as we quickly checked in and ran to our room to drop our bags to make a dinner function. The front desk was courteous and efficient as well. We had a king room that was a good size and had a comfortable bed. Those are the highlights. There were only two towels and two wash cloths in the bath room. Our room was not the only room that had a shortage of towels. The air conditioning did not work well. It was not a particularly hot or humid day or evening. Again, others complained about the same issue with their room. The next morning at breakfast was among the worst part of the experience. After an incredibly long wait we finally received a menu. Most diners were having the buffet. We wanted oatmeal and pancakes. Our waitress must have received no training. I asked for pancakes, bacon, and coffee and had to repeat it because she couldn't remember what I had said. She was writing it down as I spoke! It took three requests to receive a table set up and another 20 minutes to receive my pancakes. The next day at breakfast someone was vacuuming the lobby around everyone as we were eating and the lobby was bustling. Inconvenient and annoying for everyone. Self parking is across the street and difficult to access. To get into the lot you must get out of your car to use your room key to open the gate. On a rainy night this would be very unpleasant, not to mention the two block walk back to the hotel after parking your car. I will definitely stay somewhere else when I retune to Durham.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_Jeffries, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced because of overall hotel service . I will share your comments with our management team and the staff for the improvement. Our goal hear at the Durham Marriot is to make sure our guest leaves satisfied and comes back to see us. But we are very sorry to hear that you were not happy. We will work harder to accommodate your needs in the future. Thank you again for being our loyal guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Durham Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott City Center

Address: 201 Foster Street, Durham, NC 27701
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Durham
#23 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Durham Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Durham Marriott City Center. Situated downtown, you'll love how the hotel and the city seamlessly blend the modern and the historic. The Durham Marriott City Center is connected to the 44,000 square foot Durham Convention Center and adjacent to the beautifully restored Carolina Theatre. Minutes away from Duke University, Duke Hospitals, and North Carolina Central University, this modern hotel compliments the heritage and classic architecture found throughout the city. Designed for both the business traveler and family vacationer, our comfortable accommodations and outstanding Marriott service ensure a memorable and productive visit. The Durham Marriott City Center is known for its helpful and knowledgeable staff that will ensure you get the most from your stay. Rooms at the hotel include Marriot's luxurious revived bedding package accompanied by high-definition flat screen televisions. Guests on the concierge level enjoy the added benefit of the concierge lounge serving appetizers and snacks Sunday evening through Friday morning. All guests appreciate the state of the art fitness center highlighted by eight units with 17 inch TV screens. Dining options include the 2 zero 1 restaurant with continental American dining and a casual atmosphere. The 2 zero 1 lounge offers nightly specials and a relaxed setting. So what are you waiting for? Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Durham Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Marriott City Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durham Marriott City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.