We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2515 Meridian Parkway, Durham, NC 27713   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winter Park, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great service, good amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Typically, a Doubletree is a very good business hotel, but I gave this one a higher rating. In this case, I am somewhat biased since the desk personnel upgraded me to a suite. I had a five-star room with a 12-person conference table, bath and a half, huge sitting room, huge bedroom and a double sink with bidet and jacuzzi in the bathroom. I had booked the room on Hotwire, so I was shocked when they upgraded me. In addition to the fantastic room, the hotel is quite nice and the service was great. We did eat in the hotel restaurant, and it was very good and reasonably priced. I had a salad with the freshest sweetest scallops you could ever ask for. The hotel is convenient to the airport and is set back in the woods so you don't get any interstate noise. I really liked it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am so glad you enjoyed your suite and jacuzzi. The scallops are one of my favorite menu items as well. I will share your comments with our Executive Chef and the front desk team. Exceptional service is our number one priority! All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    158
    44
    27
    16
See reviews for
173
82
42
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

please be aware of your room booking. They do not provide you the same room as booked. Very deceiving. Their explanation to this is when you book from any website that Hilton has contract with ( such as Priceline, kayak etc.) they would allocate you the most cheapest room available even if the website clearly states its a double suite double bed room they allocate you double bed or single bed whatever cheapest.

I booked after calling the property if those rooms are available well in advance but none of that proactive approach worked. Instead I paid the price for the double bed room double bed suite and got a double bed. I was highly disappointed and suprized to what Hilton was doing, being myself from transportation industry this is unacceptable and they did not even consider offering any other solution or credit refund or any sort of compensation, all they could say is sorry and mention that they had many complaints about the same issue and have not received any feedback from the corporate office yet. I was like really.. i mean really.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
I am so sorry you did not receive the room type that you booked. Please contact me at your convenience so that I may address your concerns. My phone number is 919.361.4660.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Took my family here for a weekend get away, and we all had lots of fun. We got the double bedroom suite, and that was more than enough room for us. The kids really enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pool. And the paddle boats in the lake were lots of fun, even though the pedal broke on us. Breakfast buffet was awesome!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spacious rooms, wet bar, refrierator, microwave, 2 TVs, comfy beds, patio, pools and spa made this a very enjoyable trip. The grounds are very relaxing as you're tucked away just off I40 but have great views of a lake and waterfall/fountain with a walking trail around the lake. Very picturesque. Rooms are a bit dated and could be a tad cleaner but the spaciousness of the suites more than made up for this minor deficiency. The staff is friendly and accomodating. We have never checked into a hotel so fast - and with warm delicious cookies!

Room Tip: If you're a smoker choose a poolside suite with a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will always have a warm chocolate chip Doubletree cookie waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Love the lake out back. Makes for a relaxing walk in the morning or later afternoon. And after a long day of travel, you just can't beat a nice warm chocolate chip cookie. I look forward to it when I stay at the Doubletree!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! Our lake is very beautiful and the walking trail around it is very peaceful. We also offer tennis, paddle boats, volleyball and a large indoor/outdoor pool. We do hope you will visit us again in the near future. We will have a warm Doubletree cookie waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Warm cookies = amazing! Bought a tin to take home they were so good :) The room was comfy, nicely decorated (looked very new and up to date), lovely view, and the soap was great! I know that sounds like a weird thing to comment on, but let me tell you, my husband and I stayed here after a long day of moving in hot weather, and our skin felt so smooth and soft after showering with that soap. I really wanted to ask where I could purchase some, unfortunately we had to hit the road early and I forgot to ask. Next time maybe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our famous Doubletree cookie. Your comments about our soap are also appreciated. Our soap is made especially for Doubletree Hotels by Crabtree & Evelyn and is called Citron (honey & coriander). I do hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the Raleigh/Durham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The rooms are huge - which is great for a longer stay. We were there for a night, but liked the extra space. Refrigerator and microwave in the room.
We had the AC in our room go out twice, but both times the building engineer was there within minutes to fix it. The second time he came with comp breakfast coupons.
The property is looking a little dated and could use a refresh - but it's clean and located near the interstate. About a 10-15 minute drive to downtown and Duke University.
I would have liked comp WiFi. This is one of those borderline hotel brands, between a Hampton Inn, but not quite Flagship Hilton, where you think you should get the wifi free but don't.
But, unlike a Hampton Inn, they offer amenities like a lobby bar, full restaurant, room service, etc.
If in Durham in the future I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I suspect they get pretty full around Duke University events - plan accordingly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We will be completing a full renovation over the next few months and I do hope you will come and enjoy our fresh new look. From your review it sounds like you enjoyed our restaurant and bar-- thank you. I will share your comments with our Executive Chef and his team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham

Address: 2515 Meridian Parkway, Durham, NC 27713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#10 Family Hotel in Durham
#14 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Raleigh-Durham Hotel Durham
Doubletree Hotel Raleigh Durham
Doubletree Raleigh
Doubletree Durham
Doubletree Guest Suite Raleigh Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.