We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for UNC and Duke” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn University to your Saves list
Comfort Inn University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3508 Mt. Moriah Rd., Durham, NC 27707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #34 of 69 Hotels in Durham
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great location for UNC and Duke”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights while visiting medical center. Hotel is not easy to access, appears to be old but well maintained and clean. Room was very small and bath even smaller. Ok for 1 person but not comfortable for more than a day or so. Cannot shut door to bath without turning sideways and I am not a large person. Most folks would be miserable. Breakfast looked as if it came right out of a bag. Not appetizing at all. Coffee great. Best part was the staff. Wanda was excellent. Next best part was price if you can handle small room, squeaky bed and sit sideways.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    20
    8
    9
See reviews for
27
12
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The staff was great. Had my mother’s 75th birthday party here last month (Feb 2013) and Devin, Joyce and Victor provided exceptional service. Meeting room was clean and for the most part set-up the way I wanted it. Hotel has comtemporay and updated look. Although I was a little disappointed with one front desk person and the fact that we didn’t get the projector at the time I had arranged to pick up at front desk I would give them 5 stars!! Excellent place to have a small party.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Service at desk was great. Location is close to UNC, Duke, shopping, and restaurants.

The motel is very contemporary. Great continental breakfast options including waffles and little omelet.

Free wifi throughout. Rooms are very nice.

They work with local Ronald McDonald house.

I recently spent the weekend at $200 a night hotel in NY. I would rather have stayed at this place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our stay was just ok. You know that smell that old carpets in old hotels have? Well this one is going that way. There was also a cigarette burn in the bedspread. The bathroom, shower curtain, etc. were clean. They have coffee in the lobby, but it was cold when we arrived. The breakfast was typical of this chain. Instead of bacon or sausage they had what looked like deli ham on the buffet. The outside door on the side, that you use your card to enter, could be pulled open from the bottom to 3/4 of the way to the top. While you had to use your card key to open it all the way, it did look like it would not last long. I did not feel very secure with it in that condition.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash S, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear uncjillrossmom,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. I want to ask you if you could be sure you are rating the right hotel? We finished our renovations in the last 30 days, so our carpet is brand new. We serve Jimmy Dean turkey sausage every day. We also discontinued the use of bedspreads six months ago and have been using the triple sheeting method of making beds. It's really important to us to be sure we are rated fairly and it doesn't sound like you have the right hotel. Please, feel free to contact management at (919) 382-3388.

We are located in Durham at 3710 Hillsborough Road.

I am updating our pictures to include a picture of the newly renovated lobby. Maybe it might help you determine whether you have the right hotel or not.

Again, your feedback is important to us. We would love to hear back from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northcarolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel just seems old and run down. Bed was very low with the softest mattress and pillows I have ever slept on. Felt like the mattress was way past its prime. Breakfast was not bad. Several other hotels in immediate area-would pick any of those first.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnc132, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking time and posting your thoughts. We are constantly working to improve our property and deliver the best possible service. The good news is that we have been in the process of rectifying many of the items you commented on.

The hotel was built in 1990; we did a complete renovation inside and out last year. The only item we were unable to renovate, was the bedding. The new bedding that Comfort Inn is rolling out includes a selection of pillows labeled firm, medium and soft. Since the mattresses are only 3-years old they are not due for replacement just yet.

I am happy you liked our breakfast and enjoyed our service. I hope you will give us another try, let us know if you have an issue, we would appreciate an opportunity rectify.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schrocket
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our experience here was generally unpleasant. We had elderly parents in one room and we were in another. The lobby seemed clean and updated, so we gave it a chance. Our rooms on the first floor were definitely so-so. Ok decor, but just sort of "off" and poorly maintained. See photos. Not really a fault of the cleaning staff, because the rooms were clean enough on the surface....they just need maintenance and carpet cleaning. The bedspread was stained. The faucet in the shower, for example, just stuck out of a hole in the wall on a pipe, so water could go behind the wall. Floor lamp was broken and cockeyed. In the three nights there, neither room had working heat. The maintenance person was very nice, and would re-start it, but then it would kick off, and he never got it to work which, for the elderly with us, was very problematic. He offered to give us a different room, but since units were broken in both rooms, we weren't optimistic about our chances in another.The rooms also smelled quite heavily of mildew, and all of us woke up coughing in the night. The rooms were a bit dark and dingy so we didn't initially notice the stains and actual black mold on the ceiling of our room until our adult son visited and had a near-immediate asthma attack. The security door into the hotel from the side parking lot was broken and never locked consistently during our visit which made everyone feel a little insecure. Looking at older reviews, I see that this has been a problem for some time. The toilet is cramped (see photo). Breakfast was available in an unpleasant dining area with really glaring fluorescent light. The food itself was like gas station food, although they did have a self-service waffle maker and yogurt.
Twice, when we went to the front desk, there was no-one there for an extended period of time and people were there waiting to check in or out. The staff was not unfriendly, but not overly available either. They didn't act surprised that we were checking out early, nor ask why.
Ultimately, after three nights, we cancelled the remainder of our reservation and moved next door to the Homewood Suites which, for around $20 a night more, had beautiful suites with kitchens, was immaculate, and included both a nice breakfast and dinner. On the plus side, restaurants and shopping centers abound nearby, and access to the highway is easy. We have stayed comfortably at other Comfort Suites and were sorry that this one was so disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I'm a diamond member with choice so I was upgraded to the suite (room 313) and it was very spacious and nice. It had a hot tub and seperate living room. I really enjoyed it. The staff was nice and friendly. The bed was comfortable and the hotel is up the street from practically everything (walmart, best food, fast food, dine in, movies, etc.). Excellent stay and reasonable price. I'll definitely be staying here again and recommending it to all my coworkers when they are in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Address: 3508 Mt. Moriah Rd., Durham, NC 27707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Comfort Inn University hotel located between Durham and Chapel Hill, NC. Centrally located between Duke University and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and UNC Healthcare, the Comfort Inn® University provides easy access to Interstate 40 and Interstate 85. North Carolina Central University and Hillsborough are just minutes away from the hotel.The Raleigh-Durham International Airport is 14 miles away.Research Triangle Park, The Streets at SouthPoint and many other points of interest are just minutes from this Durham hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.