We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn University to your Saves list
Comfort Inn University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3508 Mt. Moriah Rd., Durham, NC 27707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #34 of 69 Hotels in Durham
Shenandoah, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I travel a lot and never have I been more surprised then by this hotel. The front desk clerk is a gentle giant. He was so concerned about making my stay good it impressed me greatly! My room was great. The jacuzzi in the room was wonderful. I will for sure be back!

Room Tip: Get a jacuzzi room it is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    20
    8
    9
See reviews for
27
12
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Recently updated hotel. Great Service. Complimentary Cont. Breakfast. Loved the coffee :) Rooms: Everything is new... comfy beds and pillows. new carpet. updated bath fixtures. They didn't update the shower surround, but the new shower heads were awesome. high pressure. Room has micro/fridge. Great bargain price because we told them we were going to Duke ($69).
Great location between Duke and UNC/chapel Hill. Located in same parking lot w/ Bob Evans, outback and a few more. Next to Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I arrived at this property at 4am to check into and Larry the night attendant who was devoid of any personality and who obviously didn't want to be bothered with checking another customer gave the worst greeting I have had in 30 years of travel.

Unfortunately it only gets worse. The next day after car shopping for my daughter who my wife and I just moved to Durham, we arrived back at our room at 6pm to discover the room had not been cleaned. And, after informing the front desk personnel of the problem we went out for dinner and a movie and returned again at 11:30pm and the room had not been touched.

Interestingly enough when I went down to inform the front desk personnel of the problem my good friend Larry was back on the clock told me he could not do anything but offer me some clean towels. I will not recommend this hotel, nor will I stay at this property again.

Ted from California

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you value you quality or good service and a clean room because you won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed at Comfort Inn University after a recent business meeting at Blue Cross Blue Shield of NC. Best price for a hotel in the area. Hotel recently renovated. New carpet, fresh paint. Very friendly staff. Comfortable beds. Room was clean and pleasant, only complaint was the AC/Heat unit in the room was noisy. Free wireless. Standard free comfort inn breakfast. Lots of restaurants nearby as well as a shopping center.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

I stayed at this recenetly renovated Comfort Inn over Labor Day weekend, while attending area musical events. My 2nd floor room was comfortable & clean, with a view of the small swimming pool. There was a small fridge & microwave in the room.
A simple continential breakfast was included each morning & the staff person kept it well stocked during breakfast hours.
I didn't see the daytime front desk staff that much, but the evening staff was great! If I remember correctly, their names were Joyce & Orlando. They were knowledgeable of nearby Chapel Hill, where I attended most of my weekends events, & they were helpful in helping me get a taxi each evening, even one night when I was in a big hurry.
I had a slight problem with a non-functioning room key card on the last night, but Orlando took care of it quickly.
There's nothing fancy about this hotel, but it's clean, the beds are comfy, & the staff is helpful. I believe I received good value for my money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Have stayed here before, prior to the renovations. Total makeover. The place looks great, rooms now have flat screen TV. Now an even better value!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Since the remodeling has been completed, this is a much more inviting property. The lobby and breakfast area is now very nice, and the carpets throughout look much better.

The location of this Comfort Inn is great. There are nice shopping centers within 1/2 mile of the property and plenty of fine places to eat.

Room Tip: We prefer the back side of the hotel for our room since parking is more plentiful and there are thre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Address: 3508 Mt. Moriah Rd., Durham, NC 27707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Comfort Inn University hotel located between Durham and Chapel Hill, NC. Centrally located between Duke University and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and UNC Healthcare, the Comfort Inn® University provides easy access to Interstate 40 and Interstate 85. North Carolina Central University and Hillsborough are just minutes away from the hotel.The Raleigh-Durham International Airport is 14 miles away.Research Triangle Park, The Streets at SouthPoint and many other points of interest are just minutes from this Durham hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.