We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late evening bite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melo Trattoria

Melo Trattoria
1821 Hillandale Rd, Ste 3, Durham, NC 27705-2671
919-384-9080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 655 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: Italian, Tapas
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Late evening bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Was looking for something light and and more interested In a good wine selection actually. This place fit the bill. Ordered the potato soup which was the soup du jour and it was very good. Followed it with the shrimp tapas plate and it was also very good. A glass of Rioja followed by a glass of the house Malbec was a perfect complement to the food. I would certainly recommend this establishment to anyone visiting the area as I was.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    25
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in Durham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We saw this place on Trip Advisor and were looking for a nice local restaurant - not a chain. This funky little restaurant was a delight. Not fancy, but the staff was super accommodating and the food was great. Definitely go back next time we are in Durham. Also, loved getting to try their limoncello and grappa.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A little bit of Italy in Durham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We tried Melo on a whim, wanting to try a place new to us. Traditional setting with attentive wait staff. They were great helping us with dietary restrictions. Food was fresh and authentically prepared. Will definitely eat here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York,New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrific Trattoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Wonderful food, atmosphere, service and location! Superb Mediterranean, tapas and wines.Fantastic chef and waitstaff.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“all around greatness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

visited this place for the first time last week for lunch on my lunch break and had a lunch special. I had a half BLT and and soup that way to die for! for the place being as busy as it was, the two servers were very attentive. a lady name asha was very kind and made sure to keep my refills coming. when I told her it was my first time there she brought out the dinner menu and showed me her favorite items and invited me back. in fact I came back that night and very glad I did. I got a Greek salad and lamb chops cooked to perfection. asha was there again and even remembered me. I will be here at least once a week. all of the staff members had a warm and welcoming personality. thanks asha

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melo Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Melo Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melo Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.