We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat Here!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melo Trattoria

Melo Trattoria
1821 Hillandale Rd, Ste 3, Durham, NC 27705-2671
919-384-9080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 655 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: Italian, Tapas
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Durham, NC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Eat Here!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I have to echo what everyone else has said about Meelo's Restaurant. It is fabulous! The food is great, the portions are a gracious plenty, and the ambiance is magnificent. The staff is so warm and friendly, and Andre - hey - he is the best host. He moved around the restaurant greeting folks as if he has known you all your life, but was not obtrusive whatsoever. He wants you to feel like you were transported to a cozy restaurant in Italy while your are there. He is originally from Peru, but spent time in Italy, and met his wife there. She is Italian and she prepares the Tiramisu. It was the best I have ever eaten. And the pastas, oh man - delicious. The restaurant is a casual feel, not stuffy. I saw some in a suit, some in blue jeans. This was an evening meal. You are not rushed even though there may be a line. Reservations are recommended and also they may have a coupon on restaurant.com. Enjoy! You'll be glad you went. We're going back, for sure.

Thanks, Andre, for a wonderful evening and nice meeting you. Billy and Mary

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    25
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Charming, with delicious food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Meelo's Restaurant is a charming little spot for tasty Italian food and excellent service. My family dined there while visiting my brother in Durham for the holidays and I can assure you that my brother will be going back now that he has discovered the place!

We all had a pasta dish, each one different but all equally tasty. The portions are generous without being overwhelming. We tried a couple of the desserts and the tiramisu was definitely the best - apparently they don't always have it, but if they do I recommend it.

Everyone agreed that the best part about Meelo's was Andre, the good-natured owner, who visited our table throughout dinner. His personal attention made us all feel so welcome. Overall, it was a lovely meal!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

What a lovely meal! My husband and I were in heaven even over the leftover tomatoes from our son's order of pasta with marinara sauce, and the potato soup and sauteed mushrooms were dreamy. Great service, wonderful food, and nice options for kids. We look forward to our next trip!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great little local italian restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

This is a place I should definitely eat at more often! It's a bit tucked away and difficult to see from the main road (Hillandale Rd) but definitely worth it. You always feel welcome and it always seems like they go out of their way to make it nice for you. The have a decent (not particularly large) wine selection and the food seems to be authentic -- at the very least, very good.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Great personal service and excellent food. Everything is fresh and you get a wonderful sense of authenticity.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melo Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Melo Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melo Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.