We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome....don't miss it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melo Trattoria

Melo Trattoria
1821 Hillandale Rd, Ste 3, Durham, NC 27705-2671
919-384-9080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 655 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: Italian, Tapas
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Awesome....don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

This is just a little slice of Italian heaven tucked away in Durham, off the beaten path. A place that shouldn't be missed. It was our first trip to Durham and I chose this restaurant based upon previous reviews. It was just awesome. Andre the owner is quite a character and made our meal even more memorable with his warm welcome and fun personality. The food was absolutely delicious. We will return again and again and again on subsequent visits!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    25
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Italian cuisine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We were skeptical of reviews when we walked into this place. All that disappeared on first bite! The finest Italian food this side of Amalfi. The authentic food was coupled with a very gracious Italian chef. A very family oriented place. A gem in a corner of Durham.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Although I was a little dissapointed in the menu, the quality fo the food and service more than made up. My view of an "Authentic Italian Restaurant" utilizes pasta as a side dish and in this aspect I was dissapointed. I had spaghetti bollagnase and my collegues had the lasagne (a special of the day). Both were excellent. The garlic bread is a deffinate must order (although it is extra $). I was pleasantly surprised at the wine list. It is heavily leaning toward red wines, but it was the first time I have seen a Barbera dasti listed. The service was based on a team effort, including the owner! I will go again when I'm in the area.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Incredible, incredible restaurant. My new favorite.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Meelo's is by far my favorite restaurant in Durham, the dining experience is simply tremendous. The food is authentico italiano, the service is impeccable, and the cozy old-world vibe is outstanding. They even have live music playing throughout the dinner hours, which perfectly sets the scene for either a romantic dinner, or a casual night out with the whole family. Un ristorante fantastico!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wow! An authentic Italian experience in Durham.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

We stumbled apon Meelo's by accident. I am so glad we did! We had a wonderful chat with the chef about Italy and had wonderful authentic Italian food. I can say that this place will definitely be a regular for us. This place is wonderful!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melo Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Melo Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melo Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.