We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST ITALIAN FOOD!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza Italia

Piazza Italia
905 West Main Street Ste 18A, Durham, NC 27701
(919) 956-7360
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Piazza Italia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #114 of 655 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Dessert, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Morgan Imports
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
“BEST ITALIAN FOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

LOVED THIS PLACE!!! I have been to Piazza a couple of times and have never been dissapointed! Best italian food in the region! My chicken Marsala was to die for and our appetizers were incredible! The restaurant imitates and a sqaure in a small italian villa which gives it a warm and welcoming atmosphere! I will definetly recommend the restaurant to family and friends!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wedding Party, I'll Come Back Any Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The only reason I was able to visit was for a wedding reception being hosted here. They had booked the restaurant, but the regular staff and cooks were still working, so I'll still review based off that.

The interior was roomy and had a vague feeling of vastness, even though it's part of a small mall of diners and shops. The walls were brick and had iron and wood detailing, and were decorated with photographs, paintings and dishware. There were two separate "rooms" sectioned off with seating for about 120 people total. The staff was friendly and helpful (there is a man working there with an absolutely glorious mustache) and the food was wonderful. There is a little outdoor seating in front on a brick dais, a small bar, an amazing wine shelf, and a cool peek into the kitchen. Worth revisiting, and I'll definitely be back for a date or quiet dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere; very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Ate outside on a beautiful evening facing a pedestrian walkway (piazza). The food was well prepared and served hot. Homemade pasta was very good. Nice bottle of wine at a reasonable price. Gelato was excellent. Waiter was young but did well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Italian-style food in a pleasant restored tobacco warehouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

On a hot August weeknight in Durham, this restaurant seemed strangely sparse at dinner, but maybe it was the heat, vacation time, etc. It's located in a beautifully-restored tobacco warehouse, turned into a small shopping mall called "Brightleaf Square," with several restaurants and a few shops lining an outdoor pedestrian walking mall. Free parking in the evening is a plus. We opted for Piazza Italia after concluding that the other choices in the center were more "pub food" than we wanted. The menu includes a "pasta fresca" selection (you choose combinations of pasta, sauces and other ingredients), which is a nice way to offer these standard dishes. I enjoyed fettucini puttanesca with shrimp. The "cesare" salad featured lettuce-past-its-prime. A colleague tried the eggplant ravioli, which she said was good. The menu also includes beef, chicken and fish/seafood dishes, all, naturally, served Italian style. Service was OK, but a bit perfunctory despite the small crowd. Tables are nicely spaced, and the rehab'd warehouse is engaging, albeit a bit incongruous with the oversized Italian-marble "fountain" ornaments and columns.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Italian Option, fresh pasta !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Everything on the menu is delicious and the ambiance is incredible.
I make a point of dining here every time I'm in Downtown Durham.
Great dining option. Best fresh past in town ...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza Italia also viewed

 

Been to Piazza Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.