We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place in the Tobacco District!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers - Tobacco District Durham

Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers - Tobacco District Durham
410 Blackwell St, Ste 100, Durham, NC 27701-3986
919-680-8500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 638 restaurants in Durham
Price range: $13 - $29
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Willard Street
Transit: Durham Station is located approximately 100 feet from the North Parking deck at the American Tobacco Campus.
Description: Come join us and experience budding chefs perfect their craft. Culinary student run restaurant/lab located at The Art Institute Raleigh/Durham in the American Tobacco Campus. 410 Blackwell St on the lower level across from the WMCA.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Fun Place in the Tobacco District!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Good service, nice staff and great pizza! parking next door on a Sun was free! maybe it is all the time but coming from Chicago nothing is free ever! walk around in the Tobacco District after. the river walk or whatever it's called is so nice.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    35
    30
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

It's always crazy busy when we go to Mellow Mushroom, but then we usually go before a Bulls game or on a weekend when, of course, it will be busy.
It's worth the wait.
Pizzas here are near perfect (OK, maybe they ARE perfect). The crust is crunchy outside, tender inside; toppings are fresh and tasty; the selection of beers includes a couple local brews and the sandwiches are just as good as the pizzas. Got a calzone last visit and it's a two-person meal unless you are VERY hungry. Great family place to eat and good service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Busy for a reason: a very good pizza, plus other menu items of interest. Good, quick service, lively atmosphere (especially on game nights) and a place we visit frequently.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Because there was a play going on at the DEPAC, we had to wait, but not very long. It was worth the wait! The Mega Veggie and House Pizzas are both awesome withfresh tasting ingredients. The dough/crust is very very tasty. My hubby and I went there to re-enact our first date when we celebrated our 36 wedding anniversary. It was so much fun. Servers were great and helpful about explaining the food choices and the location is good fkor a fun night out.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza and service to match”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We had just struck out at a downtown Durham restaurant and our daughter-in-law had been to this one before and recommended it. We arrived during a Durham Bull's game- but easily navigated to the parking garage and found a spot close to the restaurant. Without a reservation we were immediately seated per our request an outside table. Service was almost immediate and orders taken. The waitress was knowledgeable of the menu and options. The appetizers and food arrived in a timely manor. In addition to the usual pizzas, we had the dough pretzels which I recommend. While we are addicted to the Chicago deep dish corn meal crust (in Chicago)-the whole wheat crust gave the pizzas a different but very good variation to the generic thin crust pizza at most pizza chains.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers - Tobacco District Durham also viewed

 

Been to Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers - Tobacco District Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers - Tobacco District Durham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.