We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Satisfied” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arrowhead Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Arrowhead Inn to your Saves list
Arrowhead Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   106 Mason Road, Durham, NC 27712   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct - Best Rates
Ranked #1 of 11 Durham B&B and Inns
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Completely Satisfied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Great place all together. Gloria and Phil did a great job on meeting our every need. The gardens are remarkable, the cabin is extraordinary and the breakfast was delightful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    14
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
135
5
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Staying at the Arrowhead Inn was a treat for me as part of my 40th birthday trip round the southern states of the USA. From the moment we arrived we were looked after very well. We stayed in the Garden Suite - a seperate building in the beautiful grounds. We had breakfast each morning on our veranda, brought to us by our fabulous hosts. We also booked the chef's dinner which we also had served on the veranda. Romantic and very welcoming, probably the best bed and breakfast I've ever stayed in. You'd be missing a huge treat if you don't stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, North Carolina, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The innkeepers were very nice, breakfast was delicious and the inn itself was really good. However you could hear everything going on outside our room and into the next room. While we were relaxing by the fire you could hear people talking in the living room area. DO NOT get a massage with the people they use. The woman who gave us massages kept breaking contact which ruined the flow of the massage. She kept stopping to drink water every 15minutes, while I was laying on the table she started packing her stuff up and went so far as to turn off the "relaxing" music she had playing. She then told me she'd turn around and I could get up. I've had many massages at inns before but this one was terrible. And to top it all off she was farting.

Room Tip: Don't get a room right off the lobby-very loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I agreed immediately: Arrowhead Inn is the loveliest bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in. You are treated to a grand entrance when you start up the driveway and encounter first the house and then a preview of the gardens. The gardens are so beautiful - we enjoyed having meals and drinks outside at a table or on one of the swings. Our room was well appointed and cozy with a fabulous whirlpool that we enjoyed very much. Breakfasts - well, these are the best breakfasts we've had at any b&b, everything gourmet and hand created by Phil, the innkeeper. He and Phyllis go out of their way to make sure each guest's stay is everything they wish it to be. They are extremely nice and hospitable and totally guest-focused. I can't find a high enough rating for this inn. You MUST stay here.

Room Tip: It's a 270 year old house so if creaks disturb your sleep you should take a room without a neigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My stay at the Arrowhead Inn was nothing less than fantastic. The room was welcoming, bright and cheerful. I would recommend the Arrowhead Inn to anyone looking for a change from the monotony of a chain motel/hotel. The hosts were gracious and accomodating and most eager to please their guests.

Room Tip: If you like a welcoming, cheerful, room, choose the Montclair room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The Arrowhead Inn is a hidden gem near Durham, NC with a relaxed setting, casual atmosphere, beautiful, historic surroundings and accommodations, and terrific service. The innkeepers, Gloria and Phil, could not have been more accommodating to a large family group that used the inn as a wedding headquarters and rehearsal dinner locale. The rooms are all spectacular - style befitting the former plantation home in which they are set, yet featuring all the modern amenities one would desire, including large jacuzzi tubs in several rooms. The inn and surrounding property have been extremely well-maintained. The food is truly exceptional, with a hearty, healthy and delicious breakfast to start each day. The homemade from scratch scones and lemon curd are the best I've ever tasted. Our one dinner was custom designed for a large group and was delightful. The grounds of the Arrowhead Inn offer a great setting to relax and read a book or just enjoy the immaculate landscaping. I highly recommend Arrowhead Inn and will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinebluff, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 2 night stay at the Arrowhead Inn and it was phenomenal. The photos on their website caught my eye... The decor looked unique and much nicer than your average B&B (that could resemble just a regular hotel room). The price point was very doable for us compared to other places with similar accommodations. We were so impressed! The photos honestly don't do the place justice. The whole house is gorgeously decorated with the most comfortable, homey, and period appropriate furniture. The "Keeping Room" where refreshments & breakfast are served is paneled with wood and smells like home. The gardens are lovely with all sorts of flowering plants and gigantic trees. The innkeepers (owners) have been there for a long time, so you KNOW that they are very invested in the beauty and upkeep of the place and are responsible for how it looks. Phil is the chef, which we just loved! It made things so much more intimate to have him in that role. Rather than being served by random staff, we were engaged personally by Phil and Gloria, which, again, made it more meaningful and real (not stuffy). Our breakfasts were phenomenal and I can't imagine why one reviewer said the food wasn't good. If you're a foodie or just love sampling fantastic food, then you will be excited and not disappointed (as we were) to try whatever Phil gives you. We can't wait to go back to have Phil feed us with his chef's dinner. We regret not choosing that as one of our dinners after sampling his talent. Our bed was extremely comfortable and all amenities very nice indeed. You will not be disappointed in choosing the Arrowhead for your getaway. If your budget is a little lower, then get just a room (not a suite) and use the saved money to have Phil feed you dinner; that's what our plan is for the next time. :O) One more thing - Phil & Gloria are very knowledgeable of the area's restaurants and so are an invaluable source to pick where to eat other meals. Being so close to Durham's attractions was super fun. Thank you ever so much, Phil & Gloria for your hospitality!

Room Tip: I would pick a room/suite on the 2nd floor again to avoid noise from possible foot traffic downstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arrowhead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowhead Inn

Address: 106 Mason Road, Durham, NC 27712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arrowhead Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oasis in the Heart of North Carolina's Triangle-Durham, Chapel Hill & Raleigh. Relax in the comfort and luxury of our 18th century plantation home. The Arrowhead Inn rest on six acres of gardens and lawns amid venerable magnolia trees. Each of our nine elegant rooms and Log Cabin and Cottage provide a serene respite with the amenities of a fine hotel. The Arrowhead Inn is proud to be a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Arrowhead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arrowhead Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.