We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metro 8 Steakhouse

Metro 8 Steakhouse
746 9th St, Durham, NC 27705
919-416-1700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 653 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Columbia, Maryland, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I can't wait to eat here again. Upon entry, my wife and I were greeted very pleasantly by the wife of the chef who made wonderful food and wine recommendations. The appetizers we had were excellent, very tasty. Then came the entrees. We both ordered beef and the steaks were cooked PERFECTLY for both my dish and my wife's. Highly, highly recommend for couples for a special occasion. I can't imagine that there is a better restaurant in Durham. I've been to a few of the other places in the Trip Advisor top 10. Those places are pretty cool and all but Metro 8 is a 10! Don't deprive yourself of a culinary experience like this if you live in the area or visiting for business. Definitely worth it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    28
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Surprised that not too many people go to this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is the second time I've been to Metro 8. On both occasions, not too many people were there. Considering that the price is very reasonable for the service and quality of food, this is surprising -- I would expect that this restaurant be full!

The food is excellent, like it was the first time. The service is very good.

I would highly recommend this place anytime.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Must visit in Durham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We dined here with friends after attending The Jersey Boys at DPAC. If you want a restaurant that has great food and atmosphere, you'll love this place. The tables are spaced so you can actually enjoy your own conversation and not those of other customers.

We started with the Spinach Artichoke Dip - a well sized portion - and the Chorizo - which was out of this world. Three of us had the Churrasco Steak and the fourth had the Salmon. I at first thought I would be disappointed because my first bite was grizzly and chewy but before complaining, I decided to try another piece and glad I did, the rest of it was as excellent as most reviews claim.

I can't wait to go back and try one of the other steaks.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wednesday wine day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Wednesday is half price for a bottle of wine night. The Sensi Pino Grigio was fantastic. My friends who ordered the steak were very happy with their dinners. I had the salmon (I do not eat red meat) and it was very good. Atmosphere is shabby chic. Looking forward to coming back next time with my hubby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, nc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Can't Believe I waited this long!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

My husband, and I finally decided to try Metro 8 for dinner one night. I can't believe I waited this long to find this great restaurant just walking distance from my home.

Everything was great. Ambience is elegant, yet cozy. Staff provides extra ordinary service, and the quality of the food shows the pride of the reataurant.

We will be returning soon, and recommend it to our freinds.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metro 8 Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Metro 8 Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro 8 Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.