We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy, but convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7007 Fayetteville Road, Durham, NC 27713   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Michigan
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
“Busy, but convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located by plenty of retail stores and restaurants. The only down side is that it is also in a very busy location with a road on one side and a strip mall on the other side. I had a room overlooking the strip mall and I suspect this side of the hotel is quieter than the side facing a busy road. The staff was fantastic and the room was very nicely done. I'm sure that I will stay here again when I have business in Durham.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and will be joining us again for your next business trip to Durham! We will also let our staff and housekeeping know the nice things you had to say about them. Thanks again and we look forward to having you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    74
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
61
38
17
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Fridge did not properly fit in cabinet. Fell out when door opened. All other room features were excellent. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Location of Hilton Garden Inn was perfect. Breakfast area was well managed and well stocked and staffed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We certainly do apologize for your fridge inconvenience and will notify our maintenance department so that we can check each room for this problem. Your feedback is very valuable to us so that we can better serve our hotel guests, so thank you for sharing. We will let our staff know the nice things you had to say about them and we hope to see you here again on your next trip to Durham!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Nice, clean, modern and includes a friendly helpful staff . The breakfast plan includes a variey of healthy choices. The lounge are is a great place to relax
Great location near RTP with a good selection of restaurant's nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us, and really appreciate your feedback. Our food and beverage staff will be happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience in our restaurant area. Thanks again for your kind words and we hope to see you again on a future stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The HGI is located across the street from Southpoint Mall, one of the largest in North Carolina, with shopping and a large selection of excellent restaurants.

The hotel is immaculate and rooms are comfortable. The staff is absolutely outstanding, friendly and extremely helpful with ideas for day trips, etc.

The restaurant is full service with a varied, but limited menu. The breakfast bar and custom omlettes are quite good. Room service is fast and good. There's a Ruth's Chris attached to the property if you want something more esoteric.

I've stayed here many times over the last 5 years and have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We truly appreciate all of the things you had to say about our hotel. Thank you so much for leaving such great feedback, we will pass along to each department all of the things you had to say! Also it seems you have stayed in the past so we appreciate your continued loyalty to our property! Please come visit us again sometime soon and thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Oman
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Hotel seems very out dated for the price you pay. Bathroom felt dirty and the floor needed to be cleaned. There was old spots on the tile and the corners of the room needed cleaned. Location is nice, but there are plenty of hotel options in the area for less money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel. We will pass this information along to our housekeeping department so that we can correct these things for future stays. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is our second stay here. The HGI has clean, bright rooms with beds that allow one to select the firmness of the mattress. There is a restaurant inside the hotel which serves dinner and a breakfast buffet. I think the buffet is a little pricey. There is also a bar. For those who wish more upscale dinning, Ruth's Chris is adjacent to the HGI. The hotel provides copies ofUSA Today and the Wall Street Journal in the lobby.

The HGI is close to the expressway and across the street from Southpoint mall. The mall has a pleasant walking path on one side which is great for stretching legs after a drive. Of course, there are many stores and restaurants, along with a cinema and an indoor play area for small children within the mall area.

The HGI is located within a strip mall which houses an REI, a World Market, and several restaurants.

Room Tip: high floor so as to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for coming back and staying with us a second time! We are so glad your enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return sometime in the near future. We appreciate the feedback about our breakfast and amenities that our property has to offer. Again thank you for your loyalty to the Hilton Garden Inn Durham/Southpoint and we look forward to seeing you when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The best one day trip ever, next time I hope to stay longer. I will bring my family the next time I come. The Hilton establishment is so far the best on my radar. And I understand why many satisfied customers continue to come back. Thank you very much very much for doing what you do! Carl Bradford

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Carl, thank you so much for all of your kind words about our hotel. We strive to provide a type of service that leaves our customers wanting to come back! We are looking forward to you and your family returning to stay with us in the future! Thanks again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint

Address: 7007 Fayetteville Road, Durham, NC 27713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint Hotel Durham
Hilton Durham
Durham Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.