We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3704 Mount Moriah Road, Durham, NC 27707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 67 hotels in Durham
Nashville
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This Staybridge Suites has some definite Pros. But the Con overshadowed the pros. We stayed here for our son's graduation. Price of the standard suite was more than double the usual rate. I'm sure most of the hotels in the region were the same. The Con? The supposed "queen" bed was certainly a double, and was the most uncomfortable bed we'd ever slept on. Hope it was just our suite, since other reviewers seem to think their beds were good. Ours was assuredly not good. The Pros: friendly staff, very clean room, ample parking, conveniently situated, fast/free wifi. The sofa does not fold out to make additional sleep space. I was up in the middle of the night seeing if it did, because I thought a sleeper sofa would probably be a better bed.

Room Tip: Nice flat screen tv and lots of channels available plus DVD player. Ice machine in room fridge (turn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Dear Suitcasereadied,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel as well as our friendly staff. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the room accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    21
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
20
7
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed here in mid April for just one night and I'm glad I did. The front desk staff was friendly and warm and check-in was quick and easy. The hotel is very clean and the atmosphere is very warm and comfortable. It has a contemporary and updated feel but still feels like home. You'll find nice granite throughout the hotel (including the rooms). The standard room was super spacious and cleaned very well. The color scheme was muted enough to allow for a relaxing atmosphere. There was a couch and a small kitchen area and a queen size bed. The vanity and sink are separate from the shower/toilet and that allows for even more flexibility in this huge room. Plenty of space and options for a long term stay if needed.
Breakfast in the morning was extremely varied and sure to please anyone! All kinds of bread items, oatmeal (with add-ins), cereal, diy waffles, sausage and eggs, great coffee, and juice bar.
I knew Staybridge would deliver because I'm familiar with the brand, my traveling companions, though, were even more impressed because they didn't know what to expect! I will definitely stay here any time I need to be in Durham.

Room Tip: Even the standard room is spacious, so you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Yes, this is a great Staybridge Suites. The beds are so comfortable. I adore triple sheeted beds and these beds also come with tons of pillows. The 2 bedroom suites are nicely laid out with the master at one corner, the living, dining and kitchen area in the middle and the the second bedroom at the other corner.

The only thing missing is the pullout sofabeds to sleep 6 people. The two bedrooms do not have the sofabed.

The breakfast was above average and the attendant allowed us to come in a little earlier in the morning to fill up a to go bag while she was still setting up.

Lots of great folks here. Enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stayed here for a week. Rooms were good sized- comfortable bed, couch, clean bathroom, desk, good LCD tv, well equipped kitchenette with full sized fridge with ice maker & coffee maker.

Adequate parking, fast and free wifi, swimming pool, barbecues, washing machines and driers free of charge, I'm pretty positive there was a gym but I didn't use it if there was one.

Good breakfast every morning and free dinner on certain nights of the week. Staff were friendly and so were a lot of the guests I met. Close to Walmart to stock up the fridge and close to a few other restaurants and shopping. Overall a great stay

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Great value for the money. Rooms are clean and modern, as is the rest of the hotel. Breakfast is OK. Staff is friendly. Best place to stay in the area. Decent restaurants within walking distance. My company selected this as their hotel of choice for visiting employees. No disappointments in 3 years.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I had just traveled back from another country, delayed flight, and was a 5 hour trip from my house - so I stumbled in here, exhausted, to try and find a room. I had actually been recommended to this place from another hotel who had been sold out. I usually try to do my research before staying, as I am in the business, but I was just too tired. What a pleasant surprise!

I was greeted cheerfully by a cute girl named Taylor. She was so kind, it made the stay even better with her attitude and customer service. It was late, and I am sure she had been there hours, but you would have thought I was the most important person staying at this property - kudos to her! A few hotels could learn a thing or two from her service attitude.

The room was clean, comfortable, quiet - exactly what I needed. Breakfast was good, and the people who I encountered were all beyond friendly. The price point, with AAA, was extremely reasonable. It was situated near some stores and good restaurants too. I would highly recommend this property for whatever reason you're in town. Great, great stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed in a 1-bedroom king suite. The room was quite spacious. Each room had a TV. The kitchen featured a microwave, full-sized refrigerator, dishwasher, stovetop (no oven), and coffee maker. The breakfast was quite good--eggs, bacon, waffles, cereal, bagels, etc. The staff was competent and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP

Address: 3704 Mount Moriah Road, Durham, NC 27707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Durham
#12 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the Staybridge Suites Chapel Hill-Durham , a new, all-suite extended-stay hotel. We re located a few miles from Duke Medical Center, UNC Chapel Hill, Dupont, IBM, Motorola, Nortel, and GlaxoSmithKline. Guarantee the success of your next event in our smartly decorated meeting rooms, with professional planners to assist you. Take care of business in our 24-hour business center with copying and faxing services. Our spacious fitness facility and swimming pool will allow you to relax during your stay and work off the stress after a busy day of meetings. Each of our delightfully appointed suites will have you feeling like you are vacation, even if you re not. Each has a fully equipped kitchen with all the tools you ll need to whip up your favorite meals. Enjoy thoughtful amenities such as cable TV, free high-speed Internet access, and voicemail-enabled phones. Staybridge Suites is moments from all the unique, interesting attractions of the Chapel Hill/Durham area. We are convenient to the Morehead Planetarium, Studio 91, Ackland Art Museum, Triangle Theatre Festival, Wallace Wade Stadium, and the Carolina Brewery. Get comfortable it s Staybridge Suites Chapel Hill Durham! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-Rtp Hotel Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.