We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Satisfying!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn RTP

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Comfort Inn RTP to your Saves list
Comfort Inn RTP
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4507 NC 55 / Apex Hwy, Durham, NC 27713   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply Satisfying!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

First of all, Penny provided the best customer service! She was attentive and efficient when she did something that should be customer service 101 but most fail to do...she paused while helping another customer, acknowledged me as a new customer, and then went back to the original customer. Simple yet memorable! Penny and the young lady who checked us out the next day were only the beginning of a good stay.
The hotel is convenient to the Interstate, UNC, and the fabulous mall. The room was simple with a nice size refrigerator, comfortable beds, and CLEAN! The FREE breakfast was simple yet satisfying, adding more value to the already inexpensive, simple accommodations. My family will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    12
    8
    12
    4
See reviews for
19
11
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here during a visit to UNC.
Pros: about $80/night, new Panasonic panel TVs, microwave, fridge, premium cable channels, close to several restaurants. Walk to Outback Steakhouse, Bob Evans and a high end Japanese restaurant.
Cons: beds average, towels a bit thin, burn in bedspread (although a non smoking room). Beds are doubles, not Queens.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My sister and I recently stayed in this hotel while taking a little shopping trip. Location-wise, it's great! It's right off the ramp from I-40, just one exit away from Streets of Southpoint mall and other shops and restaurants. Our check-in when smoothly, and our room was up to my expectations. Our problem came during the night when we tried to cool the room. First of all, when I turned the unit to low cool, it wouldn't even come on; so I turned the dial to high cool, and it started blowing out hot air. I continued to work with both dials for about five minutes, and finally it started blowing out cool air. I thought the problem was solved, so I didn't call anyone about it. However, during the night, the unit would make all kinds of strange clicking noises; and several times we both noticed that it would sound like it was going to come on, only to cut back off again. As a result, neither one of us got a good night's sleep because of the constant noises and the fact that it stayed very stuffy in the room. Upon check-out, I reported this. The only response I received was that it would be turned in to maintenance. I thought that we might have at least been given a small discount on our room, but that was never offered. I often stay in a Choice Hotel brand, but I'll probably think twice before staying at this particular Comfort Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent 2 nights over the weekend. All the staff were very courteous, friendly and efficient. Offered helpful suggestions for driving directions to avoid some of the busier highways. Location was convenient for our needs to visit family in Durham. Close to restaurants, shopping centers, and near to all the major highways. [note:my GPS would not accept this address but that was only issue]

Our room was very clean, AC and appliances were fine. Refrigerator had a freezer which was helpful for refreezing cold packs before continuing our road trip. Bed linens were fresh, towels in great condition, and bed was comfortable! That's all we needed for good sleep and piece of mind. We also noticed no noise from other rooms or elevator even though they were quite busy.

Breakfast items were fresh, warm or cold as necessary and well stocked. Decent coffee too.

We will return on our next trip, LIke this Comfort Inn better than 2 others we've tried in Durham over past few years.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I booked the room through an online service and chose a more expensive room with a jacuzzi. When I discovered it was broken II was told my bill would be reduced and reflected on my credit card. The hotel went ahead and charged the full amount and has refused to make good on their promise. The hotel was dated and needed upgraded badly. My stay at this hotel has left a bad taste in my mouth. I do not like being lied to. The hotel has ignored my complaints. Really shady business practices.

Room Tip: Just don't consider this hotel ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We impulsively stopped at this hotel last night for an overnight stay as we headed to our beach vacation. The walk in rate was reasonable at 62/room and we took 2 dbl rooms. The hotel has interior halls and doors. The front desk staff were friendly, quick, and effiecient. Both rooms were clean and functional, including a fridge and microwave which were extremely helpful while traveling with an infant, and had well working climate control. Our entire group reported a great nights sleep. We enjoyed a nice, hot breakfast including waffles, biscuits and sausage gravy, bacon, eggs, toast, Danishes, muffins, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cereal, oatmeal, and a variety of juices, coffee, tea, and milk. The front desk staff (different than at check in) were again friendly wishing us safe travels and inviting us to come back the next time thru... Which will be our plan! Excellent location- immediately off I-40 for an easy off and back on when traveling.
Our one and only complaint is mediocre water pressure in the shower... Just a little more pressure would have been nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family stayed one night, the beds were uncomfortable the TV was a flatscreen, updated but the picture was grainy. The shower was broke and sprayed water everywhere and leaked all over the floor. The air conditioner did not get cold and the room was muggy. Breakfast was ok as long as you like tons of salt in your eggs. I advised the clerk as We were leaving in hopes they would correct the problems in the room for the next visitors and she just shrugged her shoulders, Do not stray away from the hotel it is located in a BAD area. Spend the extra 20$ and stay at a Holiday Inn

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn RTP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn RTP

Address: 4507 NC 55 / Apex Hwy, Durham, NC 27713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn RTP 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Comfort Inn is located in the heart of RTP and only minutes away from UNC, Duke University, and South Point Shopping Mall. There are plenty of restaurants /dining to choose from. Free wireless high speed internet, hot breakfast, fitness center, & business center. Entire hotel renovation completed in 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn RTP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Rtp Hotel Durham
Comfort Inn Durham
Durham Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn RTP, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.