We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always enjoy my stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn RTP

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn RTP to your Saves list
Comfort Inn RTP
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4507 NC 55 / Apex Hwy, Durham, NC 27713   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Durham
concord, va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always enjoy my stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel three times in the past three months. My first trip was for business and the last two for pleasure. There isn't a pool, but if you are looking for a good location, clean facilities, and friendly staff this is a good value.

Room Tip: There are rooms that are open to the parking lot if you need easy access
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    12
    8
    12
    4
See reviews for
19
11
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mount, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I stayed here while attending a football game and going to Late night with Roy at UNC. We arrived 2 hours prior to check-in, and they allowed us to check in early, so we could be at UNC by 3. The room was clean, service was good, and it's convenient to UNC Chapel Hill as well as Duke, North Carolina State, and Raleigh/ Durham. I'll definitely go back because the price was cheap and the service and rooms were outstanding. Highly highly recommended by this Tar Heel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 via mobile

Much better than we expected.

Excellent customer service (everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful) to start with, which seems hard to find now days. Check in and checkout was quick and easy.

Our room was clean, up to date and the beds were extremely comfortable (even more comfortable than some of the $400+ a night hotels I've stayed in). The only downfall with the room was the walls are very thin (we could hear the toilet in the room next to us flush multiple times, peoples conversations, kids running in the hall, etc).

The other downfall was the location, which isn't solely the hotels fault. Durham is not the worlds nicest area. The hotel sits right off the freeway, which is nice and not so nice at the same time. For convenience, it's great. But the area itself isn't spectacular.

Overall, for the price, it was a great stay. If we're ever in the area again, we'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

I think there has been a change in Management at this hotel. Last year we stayed twice and I rated this as the friendliest place we had ever stayed. Not so, this year. Staff seemed to have a non-caring attitude. No smiles , not even a decent greeting upon checking in. When you are a hotel chain that has nothing unique to offer, your customer service can set you apart. Everything went smoothly, yet I was expecting that same friendly staff. We will still stay here on our visits to Durham because the hotel is such a good value.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

The General Manager and staff were very friendly. My room was very clean. My stay was quite pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnc490, General Manager at Comfort Inn RTP, responded to this review, November 19, 2010
Dear ddsear,
Thank you so much for your kind review! All of our manager's here at the Comfort Inn RTP strive to ensure that each department is properly trained on each item of our guests' concerns. It gives me pleasure to also let you know we are a 2010 Gold Award Winning Hotel and now Choice Hotel's FIRST "Green" Hotel in Durham! Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn RTP, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Neelam Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Not a good value for the buck. Thin walls which resulted in hearing both the TV and phone conversations of our neighbor. Breakfast was mediocre and the breakfast area cramped.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnc490, General Manager at Comfort Inn RTP, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear DanJaxson,

We are sorry to hear you did not find value in our hotel. We pride ourselves on providing the best service to all of our guests and taking care of any issues brought to our attention. I apologize that your stay with the Comfort Inn RTP did not exceed your expectations, however we will try to do so next time you visit the Durham area. Thank you for choosing the Gold Award Winning Comfort Inn RTP.

Sincerely,
Neelam Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

This was a great hotel with a very friendly staff. When I walked in the door, until I left I felt as though I was at home. Very spacious rooms, clean and a wonderful warm breakfast in the morning. I would definitely come again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn RTP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn RTP

Address: 4507 NC 55 / Apex Hwy, Durham, NC 27713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn RTP 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Comfort Inn is located in the heart of RTP and only minutes away from UNC, Duke University, and South Point Shopping Mall. There are plenty of restaurants /dining to choose from. Free wireless high speed internet, hot breakfast, fitness center, & business center. Entire hotel renovation completed in 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn RTP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Rtp Hotel Durham
Comfort Inn Durham
Durham Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn RTP, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.