We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to see!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Life + Science

Museum of Life + Science
433 W. Murray Avenue, Durham, NC 27704
+1 919-220-5429
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 72 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Life and Science is one of North Carolina’s top attractions. Situated on 84-acres, our interactive science park includes a science center, a butterfly conservatory which is one of the largest in the world and beautifully-landscaped outdoor exhibits which are safe havens for rescued black bears, lemurs, and endangered red wolves. The Museum's Dinosaur Trail takes visitors on a journey through the Late Cretaceous period. Other attractions include a Farmyard, Ellerbe Creek Railway, Contraptions – a hands-on exhibit for older children and adults, a sailboat pond, The Lab in Investigate Health!, Play to Learn – an exhibit for children under six, more than 60 species of live animals and so much more. The Museum of Life and Science is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.
Newport News, Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lots to see!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

When we arrived at the museum at 11 AM, the main lot was already full and we had to go to overflow parking which was half full. I asked a guy that parked near us was there anything special going on. He said no. Once we got inside the museum, I realized why so many people were there - there was lot to do and see! The inside exhibits were nice but the main attraction was the outside area. It was huge. They had a giant playground area, a dinosaur trail with real size replicas of various dinosaurs, a wild life discovery trail and a farm animal zoo. They also had a butterfly house which housed hundreds of live butterflies and lots of tropical plants. It was a very pretty area. There was more to do but we didn't have time for it so if you go make sure you budget plenty of time for it

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori B, External Relations Assistant at Museum of Life + Science, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Wow! What great photos, 1Jaybee1. We love to see the Museum through the eyes of our guests.

Looks and sounds like you have a great experience. It's easy to spend a whole day at the Museum with our 84-acres of outdoor exhibit space and two story science center that features a lab staffed by local scientists, local Carolina wildlife like woodchucks and reptiles, and the all-new Launch Lab: Aerospace that lets you build your own flying objects and send them flying!

If you're in the area in September, we're having a special event called Bubble Blitz that will be focusing on the science of bubbles and how much fun we can have with those soapy spheres. Bubble Blitz is on September 19-21 and is free with Museum admission or your Museum membership. More information can be found on our Museum webpage on the Events Calendar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    89
    7
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hidden treasures in northern Durham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Museum of Life and Science is a surprisingly rich experience for both young and old, with interactive exhibits, animals (including a group of black bears), and a magical butterfly house where living winged jewels may light on your hand. The museum is not a Smithsonian-level museum, but is a particularly good thing for children who are antsy for something fun to do and it offers a wide variety of summer programs as well as a number of both temporary and permanent exhibits. Well worth the visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori B, External Relations Assistant at Museum of Life + Science, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
With a mission to provide experiences that encourage and ignite a love of lifelong learning, we are so happy to hear that you found your Museum experience great for all ages, Carlisle W!

Next time you see us, try attending one of our daily butterfly releases, meet the keeper experiences or programs in the Lab. You can find these activities and more on our Events Calendar on the main Life and Science website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Day With The Kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This place is amazing, we stopped in Durham on the way to the beach just to visit here. It did not disappoint! Its a great place for the kids with so much to do! We didn't realize how much they had to see outdoors! Our kids 10 and 7 couldn't get enough! My son especially loved the Dinosaur Trail, and my daughter the Butterfly House. We all enjoyed the catch the wind exhibit, how neat! The mist garden was hard to gt the kids to leave! All that was not including all the fun stuff inside too! We def need another whole day for them to really get to do everything to do indoors. The kids thought it was absolutely amazing and had a BLAST!!! We had lunch at the sprout cafe which was pretty reasonable and the food was good. We also thought the admission was not bad either 14 for adults and 10 for kids, it was worth how much fun they had! If you have kiddos you must add this to your to do list.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori B, External Relations Assistant at Museum of Life + Science, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks for the great review, beachmom250! We're happy to hear you had an exciting visit checking out our 84-acre campus. Kids always love the Dinosaur Trail and butterfly house. Is there anything more magical than seeing giant animals that once walked on the same ground we do as well as experiencing the tickle of a butterfly as it lands on us in a tropical environment unlike anything else?

We hope to see you again soon! Next time you visit, make sure to save room for our indoor exhibits including Launch Lab: Aerospace where you can build your own flying objects and send them soaring, the Lab where we feature local scientists helping us experiment and explore the world of science and SoundSpace, the exhibit where people and technology intersect. Information on these exhibits and more can be found on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great museum for kids and grandkids. outdoor and indoor exhibits. Our grandkids, ages 10--4 LOVE this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori B, External Relations Assistant at Museum of Life + Science, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
So happy to have happy grandparents and grandkids, orchidguy87!

We love hearing what our guests discovered during their visit to our hands-on science center. Next time make sure to save time for our daily programs where you can watch a butterfly release, meet an animal keeper and more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“great day out with my toddler!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Over the fourth of July week holiday from daycare, my 2 year old son and I went to the Museum for a wonderful day. The weather was a little overcast and rainy, but it turned out to be great because the heat was not a factor. The train was my son's favorite part. The dinosaurs are terrific! Can't wait to go back!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori B, External Relations Assistant at Museum of Life + Science, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Sounds like you had as much fun as your son, kdhsam! We love that guests of all ages can share the same experiences and wonders at the Museum.

Hopefully the next time we see you you'll make time to explore our indoor science center exhibits. With exhibits perfect for a 2 year-old like Play to Learn and Carolina Wildlife, you're sure to have another great day at the Museum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museum of Life + Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Life + Science, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.