We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Visit May Very but it can be good if you manage your visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Cafe
2501 University Drive, #10, Durham, NC 27707
919-493-9794
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 614 Restaurants in Durham
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Your Visit May Very but it can be good if you manage your visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I was very surprised on the food and how quick food comes out. However, You need to know what you want or you will spend your time flagging down your server. Also, my server didn't write down the order. So, make sure he/she has the order correctly. I had to seek someone to get water. They do have spice rack. The food is a little turned down that is it is Americanized; so don't expect a scale of 1 to 3 or 1 to 5 when ordering. Also, avoid the dumpling...the dumplings were smaller than a tube of chapstick. The Papaya Salad was decent but not like LA or Las Vegas. This place packs a lot of customers so be ready to order. It is IMHO halfway between to average and very good but it is worthy to include a monthly rotation for going out to eat with family and friends.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    28
    13
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I recently went to dinner with my sister here and the food was great! There was a short wait and the staff was pleasant. Definitely recommend.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Coconut Cake. That's all you need to know.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Thai Cafe is a great place for delicious Thai cuisine. Their Volcano Chicken, catfish, and curries are all quite delicious. I've never had a bad dish there. Do be aware that brown rice costs extra, and a side of sauteed cabbage instead of rice is charged as if it were a separate entree.

The most important thing about the Thai Cafe, however, is their coconut cake. It's sinful, delicious, and irresistible. More than once I've eaten elsewhere with friends only to hit the Thai Cafe for dessert. It really is worth a trip just for dessert..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Thai wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Recently went on a night out with friends, two of whom had never had thai. I had eaten here many times for lunch with my parents and was always pleased. Dinner menu was a bit different and more expensive than I anticipated. But portions were huge and had leftovers for extra meals. The thai basil rolls were ok, not especially remarkable. The non-spicy dishes were very non-spicy, almost unseasoned. Had not had that issue with the spicy options; pad prik, etc have been very yummy. Will return but will probably stick with lunch outings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“yummy soup!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I confess, I sometimes go to Thai Cafe just for soup. I even call for take out of this soup after a hard day at work in the cold winter. It is truely wonderful!
Thai Cafe is also an excellent all round place to eat. Family friendly but mostly adults since the food is nicely spicy. Adequate service and not much of a bar. I know others who swear by the coconut cake. Drunken noodles are wonderful. Non-fried spring rolls (basil rolls) are most excellent - as is the dipping sauce it is served with. I personally am not partial to their pad thai but I've not had a bad meal there.
Try the soup lava bowl!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Thai Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.