We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always reliable comfort food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bob Evans

Bob Evans
5419 Durham-Chapel Hill Blvd, Durham, NC 27707
919-403-6766
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #210 of 675 Restaurants in Durham
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Always reliable comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

When I absolutely must have chicken and noodles, off we go to Bob Evans. Love love love those yeast rolls. And there is a summer salad that is darned good, too. But ultimately, it's breakfast you want at Bob's and we rarely go out to breakfast locally. On the road, we always look for the BE, though.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Food was great...service not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The food is excellent good old fashioned comfort food. Great biscuits, awesome homemade sausGe gravy BUT the service leaves alot to be desired, the appetizer we orderd arrived at the same time as our food. The wait staff askedif we wanted more beverages and took their sweet time getting it to us. Each time i have come i plan easily for an hour because even though the service is bad the food makes up for it

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It's comfort food ... not fine dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I love this place. The service has consistently been excellent and the food is always tasty (although I've noticed that portion sizes have dropped over the last few months ... not necessarily a bad thing). Everyone has been friendly and helpful and I've enjoyed eating at this restaurant. Is it healthy? Nope ... but it is Southern comfort food. What do you expect? However, for a nice big breakfast on a Saturday morning, this is a great place to go.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Old people place - nursing home food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Nice, nice, staff but the food was bland and under seasoned and low quality. 86 year old guest insisted we go there so off we went. Never again - at least not until I'm 86.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
“Bland and perfunctory.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Bob Evans used to be a colorful character in the Cincinnati area, but his restaurants are colorless--most of the dishes are very rich and caloric.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob Evans also viewed

 

Been to Bob Evans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob Evans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.