We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pomodoro Italian Kitchen

Pomodoro Italian Kitchen
1811 Hillandale Rd, Durham, NC 27705-2671
919-382-2915
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 638 restaurants in Durham
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Satellite Beach
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It's Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Italian food..well what else can you say. It is just down home good Italian. If ordering out, I get the kids portion. meatballs are really good and the desserts look outstanding. A little hard to get into the parking lot but you can go through the motel next door. Right off the i85 exit at Hillandale Rd.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    17
    14
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Closed.....Bummer!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This restaurant has either moved or closed. There is now a place called the Blue Olive in this location. Bummer - I was really looking forward to Italian.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josephine F, Owner at Pomodoro Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
I am sorry you had this happen. But we are not in the shopping center. We are located across the street in a free standing building on the corner of Hillandale Road and I-85. Please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice cozy and moderately priced Italian ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was working in Durham and was wanting something more than fast food for lunch. Decided to give it a try and was pleasantly surprised. The restaurant is in an old nicely remodeled Shoneys. Fast service, good food and reasonably priced. It's a winner if you have a hankering for Italian If you are looking for a five star experience, as it seems some of the other reviewers were, this is not the place. Just good and affordable Italian food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Huge menu, good tasting food, not-so-good afterward”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It was really easy for each member of my family to find something to eat, due to the gigantic menu. Prices were reasonable. One of us thought the food tasted great, the other two thought it was just good. I ordered the 3-type manicotti -- it tasted really good, but I did find that later, let's just say, it 'didn't agree with me'. I'm currently undecided about whether I'd go here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“PIZZA was GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were at a wedding earlier in the day and needed a snack, Pom's was within walking distance to the hotel. It turned out to be a great spot. Quiet, good service and great food. We ordered a meat pizza and had it cut in 8 slices because there were four of us. It was to die for. I would recommend this to the locals and the out of towners. Great Spot!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomodoro Italian Kitchen also viewed

 
Durham, NC
Durham, NC
 

Been to Pomodoro Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pomodoro Italian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.