We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STILL PACKING THEM IN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bennett Pointe Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bennett Pointe Grill
4625 Hillsborough Rd, Durham, NC 27705-2343
919-382-9431
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 653 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Durham NC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“STILL PACKING THEM IN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I wanted a casual sit down meal on Tuesday night where we did not have to get dressed up so we went back to Bennett Point Grill. Surprisingly it had been almost a year since we were last there and to our delight, the menu had not changed and still featured all of our favorites. I got the Pan Seared Shrimp and Scallops $16.25 that came with wild rice and mixed vegetables and my wife got the broiled Flounder special with fries and vegetables. The waitress was very good and attentive and brought us the delicious bread and butter. Other seafood entrées include Low Country Shrimp and Grits $15.50, the Honey Glazed Salmon $16.50 or the Grilled Salmon $616.50 that I have had before and are all excellent. The menu also features a Bennett Burger $8.25, a Shrimp or Oyster Po Boy $8.95, a Bacon Cheddar Chicken sandwich $8.75, a Ribeye steak $17.95, Honey Glazed Pork $14.50, Black Jack Pork that is slow roasted and then charred on the grill with a Jack Daniels sauce.

We went to order some wine and ran into a small snafu. We ordered a glass of chardonnay and the waitress came back to say they were out. We ordered another brand and the waitress returned to say it also was out. This time the waitress said all the only chardonnay they had was Kendall Jackson $9.50 which is always very good and did not disappoint.

The food arrived within 20 minutes even though the restaurant was crowded and the bar seats were all filled. The shrimp and scallops were coked to perfection and not rubbery or overdone. This was also true with he flounder that was still moist and the fries were hot.

The wait staff were all hustling while still being attentive and people continued to come in for a wonderful and well priced dinner. The wide menu variety, the excellent wait staff and the quality of the food preparation still packs them in at the Bennett Pointe Grill.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly neighborhood haunt”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I will preface this by saying this place is very near my home. I like the folks who run it. The ambience is the best feature of this place. You have a true neighborhood feeling on entering. The food is fine, not special, but you go there to be with friends in a quiet little corner of northern Durham.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Local Grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very good seafood close to the Hilton at Duke they have a great variety of other menus items the wait staff very was very good just a good neighborhood grill.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hey the shrimp and grits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Actually the whole menu is good, but they have awesome seafood. And it's not the typical fried calabash style you get at most seafood ppl laces in NC. Great wait staff, plus a fully stock bar. If in Durham, definite out check it out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Local favorite with honest food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Have to start by saying that Gina our waitress was incredible! She kept the sweet tea flowing, and the Coke's a coming! Thanks again Gina!

Neighborhood local cafe is how I'd sum up the Bennett Pointe Grill. Yes, it is in a strip mall, but heck this is not downtown nor in a mall with corporate owned restaurants. Therefore, plenty of parking, and the Food Lion is next door so you can pick up some milk, or whatever on the way home.

Started off with chili topped nachos, quite tasty with black beans. I would prefer standard tortilla chips versus the black and red ones. Although it makes the plate colorful. Huge portion with jalapenos and sour cream on the side. My friend's chicken marasol was very tasty with sun dried tomatoes. I had the Mahi Mahi (dolphin) special, topped with shrimp. Nice size piece of fish with a dark honey and ginger sauce. Very delicious. My plate included a rice pilaf and quick sauteed vegetables. Only $16.50

We'll be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennett Pointe Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bennett Pointe Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bennett Pointe Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.