We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for miles!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hog Heaven Bar-B-Q

Hog Heaven Bar-B-Q
2419 Guess Rd, Durham, NC 27705-3304
919-286-7447
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 655 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best for miles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Had the pulled pork sandwich, hush puppies and okra- all were great! The sandwich was delicious and did not need any extra sauce, the hush puppies were warm and tasty, the okra was crispy and not mushy or greasy like most places serve. Kudos! I will be back!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina, USA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“can not beat the fried chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

this is a plain jane , no ambiance kind of place. drive up window or order inside at the window get your drink and be seated. a waitress brings out your meal. generally very fast service. bbq is great, hushpuppies are good( butter them) but the fried chicken is a standout. unfortunately you can not order "all white" so you get a leg and thigh to go with the breast and wing. that is my only complaint.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Durham!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Having seen Hog Heaven on two trips to Durham, I decided I would try it. I'm so glad I did! The BBQ was excellent and the slaw the perfect compliment. Best of all was the hush puppies. They were the best I ever had. The staff was friendly and the prices excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Darn good BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I come here with family every time I am in town and I think it is the best pulled pork sandwich around. I love the hush puppies and the waitress is wonderful. Price is low and food is great. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best Pulled Pork Sandwich in Durham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Like I said above, great sandwich, fries, anything Bar-B-Que is good. Prices aren't hateful, can get crowed but not bad. Just a good "hometown" joint.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog Heaven Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Hog Heaven Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hog Heaven Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.