We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy on the wallet and good on the tummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hog Heaven Bar-B-Q

Hog Heaven Bar-B-Q
2419 Guess Rd, Durham, NC 27705-3304
919-286-7447
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 614 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Top Contributor
722 reviews 722 reviews
524 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
361 helpful votes 361 helpful votes
“Easy on the wallet and good on the tummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Always good ol' Southern Cooking! Prices are just right if you haves a gang of kids with hungry mouths to feed. You can pack in the calories and keep from having to 2nd mortgage the home.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Bar-B-Q in Durham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

great bbq, great chicken, tons of vegetables that change daily, they don't cut up the pig and let it sit all day. There are times when it takes 15 minutes to get served and the reason is that the cook is chopping up some great pig. Hush puppies are wonderful. Not sure about the Brunswick stew. Reasonable, no booze which is standared in bbq places in this state. Even my yankee friends go for this in a big way.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Decent Food but Well-Worth a Return Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The place is well kept with an very open landscape for sitting and dining in.
The food is pretty good but not consistently good. I have been here on several occasions and had dry chicken one day and very moist & succulent chicken on the next.
All I can say is, they do try hard to please and stuff happens. If you do not like what is on your plate, the wait staff will take it back and make it right.
She acts like the boss at times which is very comforting because she really cares about her customers. That makes me...Happy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dang good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Friendly service, yummy pulled pork, ridiculously tasty and tangy BBQ vinegar sauce. That's it - dang good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bring an Appetite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I love it - so simple, makes me feel like I just pulled off a two lane highway out in the middle of no-where!!!
If they would have picnic tables for seating it would have been the icing on the cake!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog Heaven Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Hog Heaven Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hog Heaven Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.